State Parks
Wildlife Diversity
Law Enforcement
Office of Land And Streams
State Wildlife Center
Disability Services
go Wild!
License Plate
Fun Zone
Administration Home News/Information Contact Us DNR Home   

Joe Manchin III, Governor

Frank Jezioro, Director


News Release : September 19, 2005


Hoy Murphy , Public Information Officer (304) 558-3380

Contact: Curtis Taylor , Wildlife Resources Section Chief (304) 558-2771


Youth and Class Q Deer Season to be Held October 29 and December 26-27


  A special split deer season for youth and Class Q permit hunters (permanently disabled in the lower extremities) will be held on October 29, 2005 and December 26-27, 2005, according to Frank Jezioro, Director of the West Virginia Division of Natural Resources. This season, for the taking of antlerless deer only, will be held on private land in counties or parts thereof open to antlerless (Class N) deer hunting and on 22 designated Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs) throughout the state.


  “The Special Youth/Class Q Deer Season has become very popular with our young people and physically challenged hunters, and more than 4,800 antlerless deer were harvested during the three days last year,” said Jezioro. “In addition to encouraging our youth to participate in the hunting tradition, special youth hunts provide an excellent opportunity for parents and adults to provide one-on-one instruction to our hunters of tomorrow.”


  Youth hunters, ages 8 through 14, may participate in the special season, but they must be accompanied by a licensed adult at least 21 years of age. The accompanying adult must remain near enough to the youth to render advice and assistance. The adult is not permitted to carry a firearm or bow. Resident youths do not need a license, but nonresident youth must possess Class XXJ and Class CS/LE licenses. Resident Class Q hunters must possess a valid Class Q permit and a Class CS license. Nonresident adult hunters must qualify for and obtain a West Virginia Class Q permit along with Class E and Class CS/LE licenses to participate in the hunt.


  The bag limit during this special season is one antlerless deer per day, which does not count towards the hunter's annual deer season bag limit. Each deer taken must be field tagged and checked in within 24 hours of the close of each respective part of the season and before pursuing another deer. All hunters hunting on private land or on any of the specified WMAs on the days of the Special Split Youth/Class Q Deer Season, with the exception of waterfowl hunters and persons engaged in farming activities on their own land, must wear at least 400 square inches of blaze orange as an outer garment.


  Individuals interested in participating in the Special Split Youth/Class Q Deer Season should consult the 2005-2006 West Virginia Hunting and Trapping Regulations for additional details. Regulations are available at all license agents, DNR offices, and at the DNR's Web site .


 | goWILD |  WV State Parks |  Wonderful WV Magazine |  State of West Virginia Home Page | 
 | Law Enforcement |  Wildlife Diversity | 
Contact Webmaster
© 2003 West Virginia Division of Natural Resources