State Parks
Hunting
Fishing
Wildlife Diversity
Law Enforcement
Office of Land And Streams
Administration
Publications
State Wildlife Center
Disability Services
go Wild!
License Plate
Fun Zone
Administration Home News/Information Contact Us DNR Home   

Joe Manchin III, Governor

Frank Jezioro, Director

 

News Release : August 21, 2006

 

Hoy Murphy, Public Information Officer (304) 558-3381 hoymurphy@wvdnr.gov

Contact: Curtis Taylor , Wildlife Resources Section Chief (304) 558-2771 wildlife@wvdnr.gov

Youth Waterfowl Hunt September 23, 2006
Youth Squirrel Hunt September 30, 2006

Young hunters will have two opportunities to get an early start on the fall hunting seasons in West Virginia this September. West Virginia’s youth waterfowl hunt has been set for Saturday, September 23, 2006, and the youth squirrel hunt is scheduled for Saturday, September 30, 2006, according to Curtis I. Taylor, Chief of the Division of Natural Resources’ Wildlife Resources Section.

“These special youth hunts provide an excellent opportunity to introduce youngsters to the hunting heritage of West Virginians,” said Taylor. “The mild days of early fall are a great time to be afield with young hunters and to pass on to them the traditions of safe hunting and wildlife conservation.”

Youth squirrel hunters must be less than 15 years of age on the day of the hunt. Youth hunters do not need hunting licenses; however, they must be accompanied by a licensed adult 21 years of age or older. The supervising adult may not hunt or carry a firearm or bow and must remain near enough to the youth to render advice and assistance. The daily bag limit for the squirrel hunt is the same as during the regular season (six).

Youth who are less than 16 years of age on September 23, 2006 may participate in the youth waterfowl hunt. Youth hunters, age 14 and under, are not required to have a hunting license. Those who have reached their 15th birthday must possess a valid state hunting license (A, XJ, XXJ or A-L) and HIP registration card, or be a qualified resident landowner. The youth must be accompanied by a licensed adult at least 21 years of age. Landowners over 15 years of age are required to carry a valid federal duck stamp.

For additional information, hunters should check the 2006-2007 West Virginia Hunting and Trapping Regulations and the 2006-2007 Migratory Bird Hunting Regulations. These publications are available at all license agents, DNR offices and the DNR’s Web site at www.wvdnr.gov .

**DNR**




HOT TOPICS...
 | goWILD |  WV State Parks |  Wonderful WV Magazine |  State of West Virginia Home Page | 
 | Law Enforcement |  Wildlife Diversity | 
Contact Webmaster
2003 West Virginia Division of Natural Resources