State Parks
Hunting
Fishing
Wildlife Diversity
Law Enforcement
Office of Land And Streams
Administration
Publications
State Wildlife Center
Disability Services
go Wild!
License Plate
Fun Zone
Administration Home News/Information Contact Us DNR Home   

Joe Manchin III, Governor

Frank Jezioro, Director

 

News Release : October 4, 2006

 

Hoy Murphy, Public Information Officer (304) 558-3381 hoymurphy@wvdnr.gov

Contact: Curtis Taylor , Wildlife Resources Section Chief (304) 558-2771 wildlife@wvdnr.gov

Youth and Class Q Split Deer Season to be Held October 28, 2006, and December 25-26, 2006

A special split deer season for youth and Class Q permit hunters will be held October 28, 2006 and December 25-26, 2006, according to Frank Jezioro, Director of the West Virginia Division of Natural Resources. This season, for the taking of antlerless deer only, will be held on private land in counties or parts thereof open to antlerless (Class N) deer hunting and on 21 specified Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs) throughout the state.

Youth hunters, ages 8 through 14, may participate in the special season, but they must be accompanied by a licensed adult at least 21 years of age. The accompanying adult must remain near enough to the youth to render advice and assistance. The adult is not permitted to carry a firearm or bow. Resident youths do not need a license, but nonresident youth must possess a Class XXJ license and a Class CS stamp.

Resident Class Q hunters must possess a valid Class Q permit and a Class A license and CS stamp, or a Class X, XJ, A-L, or AB-L license. Nonresident adult hunters must qualify for, and obtain, a West Virginia Class Q permit along with the Class E license and Class CS/LE stamp to participate in the hunt.

The bag limit during this special season is one antlerless deer per day, which does not count towards the hunter’s annual deer season bag limit. A Class N or NN stamp is not required. Each deer taken must be field tagged and checked at an official game checking station within 24 hours of the close of each portion of this special split season and before hunting another deer. All hunters hunting on private land or on any of the 21 specified WMAs on the special Youth and Class Q deer hunt, with the exception of waterfowl hunters and persons engaged in farming activities on their own land, must wear at least 400 square inches of blaze orange as an outer garment.

Last year, youth and Class Q hunters harvested 2,631 antlerless deer throughout the state during the 3 day split season. Individuals interested in participating in the Special Youth/Class Q Deer Season should consult the 2006-2007 West Virginia Hunting and Trapping Regulations for additional details and a list of WMAs. Regulations are available at all license agents, DNR offices, and at the DNR’s Web site www.wvdnr.gov

**DNR**




HOT TOPICS...
 | goWILD |  WV State Parks |  Wonderful WV Magazine |  State of West Virginia Home Page | 
 | Law Enforcement |  Wildlife Diversity | 
Contact Webmaster
2003 West Virginia Division of Natural Resources