State Parks
Hunting
Fishing
Wildlife Diversity
Law Enforcement
Office of Land And Streams
Administration
Publications
State Wildlife Center
Disability Services
go Wild!
License Plate
Fun Zone
Administration Home News/Information Contact Us DNR Home   

Joe Manchin III, Governor

Frank Jezioro, Director

 

News Release : March 01, 2007

 

Hoy Murphy , Public Information Officer (304) 558-3381 hoymurphy@wvdnr.gov
Contact:
Ken Caplinger , Parks and Recreation Section Chief (304) 558-2764 parks@westvirginia.com

West Virginia State Parks Campgrounds Now Open for Reservations

      Reservations are now being taken for campsites at selected West Virginia State Parks and Forests, according to Division of Natural Resources Parks and Recreation Section Chief Ken Caplinger . “With four different types of campsites available, guests can customize their visits to fit their needs at West Virginia State Parks and Forests,” Caplinger explained. “These sites offer a variety of accommodations from deluxe campsites with all the modern conveniences to more primitive sites with some basic water and sanitation facilities.”
      Up to 50 percent of campsites at Babcock, Beech Fork, Blackwater Falls, Bluestone, Camp Creek, Cedar Creek, Chief Logan, Coopers Rock State Forest, Greenbrier State Forest, Holly River, Kumbrabow, North Bend, Pipestem Resort, Tomlinson Run, Twin Falls Resort. Tygart Lake and Watoga are available for seasonal reservation. Canaan Valley Resort has 25 sites available for reservation. At Stonewall Resort all campsites are available for reservation. All other campsites are rented on a first come, first served basis.     

Camping reservation season usually begins the Friday before Memorial Day and ends Labor Day, with the exception of Canaan Valley Resort, where the season continues through October, and Stonewall Jackson Lake, where the season is April 1 through the closing of the campgrounds. Kanawha State Forest takes reservations for Memorial Day, July 4 and Labor Day weekends. A minimum of two nights with a maximum of 14 nights is necessary when making a reservation.
      Reservations may be made in writing, by calling toll-free 1-800-CALL WVA, or in person up to two days in advance with a deposit for the entire rental fee plus a $5 handling fee. West Virginia state parks and forests accept deposits made with a personal check, money order or credit card (VISA, MasterCard, American Express, Diner's Club and Discover).

  • Mail-in reservations will be accepted from February 15 to March 14. Contact the particular park in advance by phone to request reservation forms. All reservations must be postmarked on or after February 15 or they will be returned. If February 15 falls on a Sunday or legal holiday, reservation requests received with a February 15 postmark will be processed with those having postmarks from the first business day following the Sunday or legal holiday. A maximum of three reservations will be accepted. If an envelope contains more than three reservations, all reservation forms will be returned.
  • Phone reservations will be taken beginning March 15 by calling 1-800-CALL WVA or the park directly.
  • Walk-in reservations will be taken and are subject to availability starting April 1.

Reserved campsites that are accessible to people with disabilities will be held from February 15 to March 14 for such individuals to reserve during the camping reservation season. Proof of disability will be required with the deposit.
      If a reservation is canceled more than seven days in advance, the deposit will be refunded, with the exception of the handling fee and the first night's rental. No refund will be given if the cancellation is seven days or less in advance. For reservations and further information write or call the park directly at 1-800-CALL WVA.

**DNR**



HOT TOPICS...
 | goWILD |  WV State Parks |  Wonderful WV Magazine |  State of West Virginia Home Page | 
 | Law Enforcement |  Wildlife Diversity | 
Contact Webmaster
2003 West Virginia Division of Natural Resources