WV DNR News Release
2

L E G E N D
1 - General News
2 - Hunting News
3 - Fishing News
4 - Law Enforcement News
5 - Parks News


Earl Ray Tomblin, Governor
Frank Jezioro, Director

News Release: September 26, 2012

Facebook: WV Commerce - State Parks

Hoy Murphy, Public Information Officer (304) 957-9365 hoy.r.murphy@wv.gov

Contact:

Curtis Taylor, Wildlife Resources Section Chief DNR.Wildlife@wv.gov 304-558-2771


Big Game Harvest to be Checked at an Official Game Checking Station

            SOUTH CHARLESTON, W.Va. – With the opening of a variety of hunting seasons quickly approaching, the West Virginia Division of Natural Resources reminds big game hunters that successful hunters must field tag and transport their deer, bear, turkey and wild boar to a Natural Resources Police Officer or official game checking station for re-tagging. This action must be completed by the hunter who harvests the animal and is required of all successful hunters, including landowners.  A summary of the checking requirements follow, but hunters should consult the 2012-2013 Hunting and Trapping Regulations Summary for complete details.

Deer:  The unskinned carcass or the fresh skin and head must be checked before it is transported beyond the county adjacent to the county in which it was killed within 72 hours from when it was killed or 24 hours from the close of the respective season, whichever comes first.  In Logan, McDowell, Mingo or Wyoming counties, however, the deer must be checked in the four-county area within 24 hours of the time of kill.  Deer killed outside these four counties cannot be checked within these counties.

Bear:  The unskinned carcass or fresh skin must be checked within 24 hours after kill and before any part of the bear is transported more than 75 miles from the point of kill.

Turkey:  The unskinned carcass must be checked before it is transported beyond the county adjacent to the county in which it was killed within 72 hours from when it was killed or 24 hours from the close of the respective season, whichever comes first.

Wild Boar:  The unskinned carcass must be checked in the county of kill within 24 hours after kill.

            For additional information, please consult the 2012-13 West Virginia Hunting and Trapping Regulations Summary or contact your local DNR district office.

**DNR**