WV DNR News Release
5

L E G E N D
1 - General News
2 - Hunting News
3 - Fishing News
4 - Law Enforcement News
5 - Parks News


Earl Ray Tomblin, Governor
Frank Jezioro, Director

News Release: October 9, 2013

Facebook: WV Commerce - State Parks

Hoy Murphy, Public Information Officer (304) 957-9365 hoy.r.murphy@wv.gov

Contact:

Curtis Taylor, Wildlife Resources Section Chief 304-558-2771 DNR.Wildlife@wv.gov


Big Game Harvest to be Checked at an Official Game Checking Station

            SOUTH CHARLESTON, W.Va. - With the opening of a variety of hunting seasons quickly approaching, the West Virginia Division of Natural Resources (DNR) reminds successful big game hunters that they must field tag and transport their deer, bear, turkey or boar to a Natural Resources Police Officer or official game checking station for checking. This must be completed by the hunters themselves and is required of all hunters, including landowners. A summary of the checking requirements follows, but hunters should check the hunting regulations booklet for complete details.

            Deer:  The unskinned carcass or the fresh skin and head must be checked before it is transported beyond the county adjacent to the county in which it was killed within 72 hours from when it was killed, or 24 hours from the close of the respective season, whichever comes first. In Logan, McDowell, Mingo or Wyoming counties, however, the deer must be checked in the four-county area within 24 hours of the time of kill. Deer killed outside these four counties cannot be checked within these counties. New regulations implemented this year allowing for the harvest of two deer in the same day do not require that the first deer be checked before the second deer is harvested; however, all deer taken in a day must be checked before hunting on a subsequent day.

            Bear:  The unskinned carcass or fresh skin must be checked within 24 hours after the kill and before any part of the bear is transported more than 75 miles from the point of kill.

            Turkey:  The unskinned carcass must be checked before it is transported beyond the county adjacent to the county in which it was killed within 72 hours from when it was killed, or 24 hours from the close of the respective season, whichever comes first.

            Boar:  The unskinned carcass must be checked in the county of kill within 24 hours after the kill.

            For additional information, consult your 2013-2014 West Virginia Hunting and Trapping Regulations Summary available online at www.wvdnr.gov and at DNR district offices and license agents across the state.

**DNR**