|Office of Land And Streams|
|State Wildlife Center|
WV DNR News Release
L E G E N D
Facebook: WV Commerce - State Parks
Hoy Murphy, Public Information Officer (304) 957-9365 firstname.lastname@example.org
Two from Marion County plead guilty to trout fishing law violations
FARMINGTON, W.Va. - Two residents of Marion County were charged with and have pleaded guilty to violations of the state's trout fishing laws. A months-long investigation by officers of the West Virginia Division of Natural Resources Law Enforcement Section resulted March 19, 2014, in the discovery of 321 trout at the residence of Michael Earl Fetty, age 70, and Tammy K. Fetty, age 46 of Margaret Road, Wallace, W.Va. The investigation determined that the Fettys would, on nearly a daily basis, fish Curtisville Lake and Huey Run Lake, both located in Marion County, where they would catch and keep varying amounts of trout.
The Fettys would transport their catch back to their residence where they would clean and wrap the trout and then place them in a freezer. Seventy-five trout from the winter/spring of 2012 were discovered along with 90 trout from the winter/spring of 2013 and 156 trout from 2014, including 12 trout the Fettys had in their possession when approached by a Natural Resources Police Officer at Curtisville Lake March 19, 2014.
Both Fettys were issued citations (summons) for Exceeding Possession Limit of Trout and Conspiracy to violate Chapter 20 of the West Virginia State Code (wildlife law) for a total of two charges each.
On April 2, 2014, the Fettys appeared in the Harrison County Magistrate Court and entered guilty pleas to all charges. For each individual the presiding magistrate charged $160.25 in court costs on each citation for a total of $320.50; a fine of $20 on each citation for a total of $40; and $300 in replacement costs. In summary, the total amount imposed in court costs, fines and replacement fees was $660.50 for each of the Fettys.
Fishermen are reminded that the daily Creel Limit for trout (total number of trout that can be caught and kept per day) is six and the possession limit for trout (total number of trout that can be possessed by one individual) is 12.
Questions regarding fishing regulations should be directed to your local West Virginia Division of Natural Resources office. The local office for Harrison and Marion County can be contacted at 304-825-6787.