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District Offices
Main Office - Charleston, WV 25305
State Capitol Complex, Building 3

Wildlife Management - Paul Johansen (304) 558-2771
Law Enforcement - Lt. Col. Bill Daniel (304) 558-2784

District I - Farmington, WV 26571
1110 Railroad Street (304) 825-6787

Wildlife Management - Gary Foster
Law Enforcement - Capt. Kaven Ransom

District II - Romney, WV 26757
1 Depot Street (304) 822-3551

Wildlife Management - Gary Strawn
Law Enforcement - Lt. Jerry Jenkins

District III
WV State Wildlife Center
Box 38 • French Creek, WV 26218
Wildlife Management - Ray Knotts (304) 924-6211

Law Enforcement - Capt. Mike Pizzino (304) 637-0245
P.O. Box 67 • Elkins, WV 26241

District IV - Beckley, WV 25801
2006 Robert C. Byrd Drive (304) 256-6947

Wildlife Management - Larry Berry
Law Enforcement - Capt. Daniel Farley

District V
McClintic WMA
Rt. 1, Box 484 • Pt. Pleasant, WV 25550
Wildlife Management - Tom Dotson (304) 675-0871

Law Enforcement - Capt. Steve Stewart (304) 759-0703
696 Winfield Road • St. Albans, WV 25177

District VI - Parkersburg, WV 26101
2311 Ohio Avenue (304) 420-4550

Wildlife Management - J. R. Hill
Law Enforcement - Capt. Tom Wasmer

Operations Center - Elkins, WV 26241
Ward Road, P.O. Box 67

Wildlife Management -  Dick Hall (304) 637-0245

Report Fish and Game law Violations:
1-800-638-4263 (1-800-NET GAME)

Report Stream Pollution or Fish Kills:
1-800-642-3074

Natural Resources Reality Check--------------------------------------------
Reality shows are taking over the TV screen. It seems that every channel has reality shows based on fear,
love or sports.

Let’s examine a local reality “show.” It’s focus is funding fish and wildlife management programs.

Fantasy – general tax revenues support fish and wildlife programs. Reality — less than 5 percent of such
funding comes from general state coffers. Approximately 80 percent of the DNR budget for managing fish
and wildlife comes directly from hunters, trappers and anglers.

Fantasy – license fees are used to pay for education and build highways. Reality – every cent you spend
on licenses goes to manage our state’s bountiful fish and wildlife resources.

Fantasy – all the money you spend on hunting and fishing equipment goes to the retailer who sold them to
you. Reality – you pay a small tax on that equipment, a portion of which is given back to the West Virginia DNR to be used solely for
fish and wildlife management. This Federal Aid in Sportfish and Wildlife Restoration money accounts for 22 percent of funding for the
Wildlife Resources and Law Enforcement sections.

Ultimate Reality – without hunters, trappers, and anglers, fish and wildlife management as we know it today would not exist. Your
dollars paid for the successful restoration of turkeys from 1953 until 1989. Your dollars paid for black bear research which provided
data needed to increase the population of our state animal. Your dollars paid for the purchase or lease of 340,000 acres of public lands
and active management on another 1 million acres of national forest land. Your dollars paid for enforcement of laws enacted to
conserve our natural resources. Your dollars paid for this and much more.

I thank you for your contributions over the years. I look forward to working with
you to ensure that future generations will have the opportunities to enjoy our
abundant wildlife resources and carry on our rich outdoor heritage.

Ed Hamrick, Director - Division of Natural Resources
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Summary of Changes 2004 - 2005 ----------------------------------------
1. There will be a six-day early bear season with dogs November 1-6, 2004 and a six-day bear gun season

without dogs, November 22-27, 2004, in Boone, Fayette, Kanawha and Raleigh counties. See page 27.

2. There will be a one-day youth spring gobbler hunt on Saturday, April 23, 2005, for youth hunters, age 10 thru 14.
The youth must be accompanied by a licensed adult, 21 years of age or older, who cannot carry a gun or bow
and must remain near enough to the youth to render advice and assistance. The bag limit is one gobbler which
will count toward the youth hunter’s annual bag limit. Only shotguns using shot sizes 4, 5, and 6 are legal.
See page 24.

3. There will be a season for hunting coyotes at night with amber-colored artificial light from
January 1 - July 31, 2005. See page 2.

4. Archery hunters in counties not open to firearms deer hunting may take two deer on Class RB or RRB licenses
(one per license and one must be antlerless) provided the first archery deer harvested was taken in a county
open to firearms deer hunting. See page 13.

5. Effective, July 1, 2004, the agent fee for issuing an annual license(s) has been increased to $3 for the first
license(s) purchase. Each subsequent annual license(s) purchase in that same year will have a $1 issuing fee.
Lifetime license holders shall pay a $1 issuing fee for additional annual licenses purchased. See page 31.

6. Residents of other states that offer reciprocal dog training privileges to residents of West Virginia may now
train dogs on raccoons in West Virginia from August 15, 2004 to the end of small game season,
February 28, 2005. See page 5.

7. Nonresident hunters who qualify and obtain a West Virginia Class Q license (must also have applicable
nonresident annual licenses) may now participate in special Class Q hunts and use Class Q hunter access
roads. See page 19.



Species Opening Date Closing Date Daily Bag Limit Possession Limit Season Limit

*Wild Boar (Gun) October 25 October 30 1 1 1

*Wild Boar (Archery) October 16 December 31

*Deer (Bucks Only) November 22 December 4 1 2 2

*Deer (Archery) October 16 December 31 1 3 3

*Deer (Antlerless) November 22** December 11 1*** 4*** 4***
  Split Season December 29 December 31

*Deer (Muzzleloading) December 13 December 18 1 2*** 2***

*Deer (Youth/Class Q Hunt-Antlerless) November 6 November 6 1 1 1
  Split Season December 27 December 28 1 2 2

*Bear (Archery) October 16 November 20

*Bear (Gun - Selected Counties) December 6 December 31

*Bear (Gun - Selected Counties) November 1 November 6 1 1 1
  See pages 25 - 28 November 22 November 27

December 6 December 11

*Turkey, Fall (Selected Counties) October 23 November 20 1 1 1
  (Selected Counties) October 23 October 30

*Turkey (Spring 2005 - Bearded Only) April 25 May 21 1 2 2

Turkey (Youth Hunt 2005 - see page 24) April 23 April 23 1 1 1

Squirrel (Gray, Black, Albino and Fox) October 9 January 31 6 24 None

Squirrel (Youth Hunt - see page 19) October 2 October 2 6 6 6

Ruffed Grouse October 16 February 28 4 16 None

Bobwhite Quail November 6 January 1 3 9 None

Cottontail Rabbit November 6 February 28 5 20 None

Snowshoe or Varying Hare November 6 February 28 2 8 None

Ring-necked Pheasant November 6 January 1 2 2 None

Hillcrest WMA November 13 December 11 1 1 None

Raccoon (Hunting) October 16 February 28 4 None
The bag limit during any 11-hour period beginning at 6 p.m. and ending at
5 a.m. is four (4) raccoons for each person or groups of persons as a party.

Raccoon (Trapping) November 6 February 28 None None None

Red Fox, Gray Fox (Hunting and Trapping) November 6 February 28 None None None

*Bobcat (Hunting and Trapping) November 6 February 28 2 2 2

Mink, Muskrat (Trapping) November 6 February 28 None None None

*Fisher (Trapping) November 6 January 31 1 1 1

*Beaver (Trapping) November 6 March 31 None None None

Crow (Thursday, Friday Saturday only) September 1 December 31 None None None
Nuisance crows - crows committing depredations upon ornamental or shade trees, agricultural crops, home gardens, livestock, or wildlife, or when
concentrated so as to constitute a health hazard and or other nuisance may be killed at any time.

Crow January 1 February 28 None None None

Coyote (day) Continuous Open Season

Coyote (night)**** January 1 July 31

Skunk, Opossum, Woodchuck, Continuous Open Season
Weasel, English Sparrow, European Starling and Pigeon

Skunk, opossum, coyote, weasel (Trapping) November 6 February 28

Mountain Lion, Elk, Otter, Song and Insectivorous Birds, Hawks, Owls, Falcons and Eagles No Open Season.

Geese, Ducks, Mourning Doves, Gallinules, Harvest Information  Program (HIP) card required.
Rails, Woodcock, Common Snipe See DNR Migratory Bird Hunting regulations available in September.

*Must be checked at an official checking station **December 5 Closed ***See charts on pages 10 - 12 ****can only use amber colored artificial light

See definition of
possession limit

on page 7.

2004 - 2005 Season Dates and Limits

(Cock birds only)
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Prohibitions ---------------------------------------------------------------------
It is illegal to:
• hunt in state parks, in safety zones in state forests or

wildlife management areas, and in Harpers Ferry
National Historical Park.

• shoot, hunt or trap upon the fenced or posted grounds or
lands of another person without having in your possession
written permission from the landowner.

• have a loaded firearm or a firearm with an attached
magazine from which all shells have not been removed in
or on any vehicle or conveyance or its attachments. You
can have a loaded clip or magazine in the vehicle as long
as it is not in or attached to the firearm. Exception for
concealed weapons permit holders (see page 5).

• carry an uncased or loaded firearm in the woods, except
during open firearms hunting seasons. It is legal to hunt
unprotected species of wild animals, wild birds and
migratory game birds during the open season in fields,
waters and marshes.

• hunt with a fully automatic firearm.

• hunt anything except deer in counties having a bucks-only
season during the first three days of this season. It is legal
to hunt waterfowl during this period on lakes, rivers, and
waterways during the open waterfowl season and to bear
hunt in specified counties.

• hunt deer, bear or boar between ½ hour after sunset and
½ hour before sunrise.

• shoot at a deer or boar while it is in water.

• be afield with a gun and bow, or with a gun and any arrows,
except for concealed weapons permit holders (see page 5).

• carry an uncased gun in or on a vehicle between 5 p.m.
and 7 a.m. E.S.T. from October 1 - June 30; and between
8:30 p.m. and 5 a.m. E.S.T. from July 1 - September 30.

• carry an uncased or loaded gun after 5 a.m. on Sunday in
counties which prohibit Sunday hunting except  at a
regularly-used firearm range, or except as provided in the
trapping regulations.

• shoot a firearm within 400 feet of a school or church, or
within 500 feet of a dwelling, or on or near a park or other
place where persons are gathered for pleasure.

• hunt while under the influence of alcohol.

• for anyone under the age of 15 to hunt on public land or the
lands of another unless accompanied by a licensed adult
who remains near enough to render advice and assistance.

• hunt or fish with a modified bow without a special permit
issued by the Director.

• get out of a motor vehicle along a public road and shoot a
bow or firearm unless you are at least 25 yards from the vehicle.

• shoot an animal unless it is plainly visible.

• use or take advantage of artificial light in hunting, locating,
attracting, or trapping wild birds or wild animals while in
possession or control of a firearm, whether cased or uncased,
bow, arrow, or other implement suitable for taking, killing
or trapping a wild bird or animal. However, lights ordinarily
carried on the person may be used for taking raccoon, skunk
and opossum. Coyotes may be hunted using amber colored
artificial light in open season (see page 2). No person shall
be guilty merely because he uses an artificial light to look
for, at, or attract a wild bird or animal, unless he has in his
possession a firearm, whether cased or uncased, bow, arrow,
or other implement suitable for taking, killing or trapping a
wild bird or animal, or unless the artificial light (other than the
headlamps of a vehicle or other land conveyance) is attached
to, a part of, or used from a vehicle or other land conveyance.

• smoke wildlife from its den or place of refuge except as
provided by law or regulation.

• hunt with a crossbow or have a crossbow afield.

• catch or kill, or attempt to do so by seine, net, bait, trap,
deadfall, snare, or like device, any bear, game bird,
protected bird or mammal, or wild boar.

• bait or feed bear.

• hunt or shoot at wild animals or birds from an airborne
conveyance, from a vehicle or other land conveyance, from
a motor-driven water conveyance, or from or across a
public road, unless specifically authorized to do so by law
or regulation. You may shoot from a motorized watercraft
if the motor has been completely shut off and progress
from the motor has ceased.

• use poisons, chemicals or explosives in taking any
furbearing animal, game animal, game bird or protected
song and insectivorous bird, provided that groundhogs
may be controlled on private land by landowners, their
resident children or resident parents, or a resident tenant
from April 1 through September 30.

• use shot larger than No. 4 or solid ball ammunition, except
for .22 caliber or smaller rimfire during the bucks-only deer
season in the four counties closed to the bucks-only season.

• hunt between 1/2 hour after sunset and 1/2 hour before
sunrise with any firearm larger than .22 caliber rimfire, a
shotgun using solid ball ammunition or shot shells larger
than No. 4 shot.

General Regulations
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HUNTING - General Regulations

Trapping Regulations ----------------------------------------------------------
No traps shall be set before 8 a.m. on the first day of the
season or either set or left set after 12 noon on the last day of
the season.

All traps MUST be checked and tended daily.

Traps previously and legally set may be tended after 5 a.m. on
Sunday, if the person so doing shall have no firearm greater
than .22 caliber rimfire or a bow in possession.

Nonresidents must possess valid Class E or XXJ, and CS/LE
licenses to trap.

Traps used for taking wildlife shall be marked with a durable
plate or tag attached to the trap, trap chain or set bearing the
owner’s name and address.

A person who unintentionally traps and kills more than the
season bag limit shall deliver excess animals to a
conservation officer within 24 hours.

Trappers shall present beaver, bobcat and fisher pelts to a
game checking station or DNR representative within 30 days
after the close of the respective trapping season. A tag
provided by the DNR shall be attached and remain attached
to each beaver, bobcat and fisher pelt until it has been sold,
tanned or  mounted.

Foot snares are legal when the snare loop:

(a) does not exceed 6½ inches in diameter.

(b) is at ground level.

(c) is horizontal to ground level.

Terrestrial body-gripping snares must have a relaxing-type
lock system with a breaking point of 350 pounds or less or a
stop with a minimum loop diameter of at least 2½ inches. Set
snares shall not have a loop diameter average greater than 15
inches. All terrestrial body-gripping snares must be anchored
at the trap site.

A person may not ship or transport any raw furs, pelts, or
skins of wild furbearers outside of the state unless such
shipment has a special shipping tag visibly attached.
Shipping tags must be obtained from the DNR. One part shall
be attached to the outside of the package or container and
the other part completed and returned to the DNR within 24
hours of shipping furs out of state.

The dealer or buyer of raw furs, pelts, or skins of furbearers
in this state shall have a license and shall submit to the
Director a completed fur dealer transaction report as
provided by the Director.

It is illegal to:
• have in possession an untagged beaver, bobcat, or fisher

pelt or parts thereof, after 30 days following the close of
the respective season.

• set deadfalls for taking wildlife.

• set traps with an open jaw spread of more than 6½ inches
except as underwater sets for beaver.

• set traps or trapping devices in human foot trails or
livestock paths.

• set conibear or mohawk type traps for terrestrial trapping,
but they may be used in water sets.

• set spring pole snares.

• use exposed animal or bird carcasses or parts thereof to
bait an animal to a trap set that is within 50 feet of the
carcass.  Animal or bird carcasses or parts thereof that are
completely covered and concealed from sight may be
used as a lure at the immediate trap site.

• trap without written permission of a landowner.

• trap within 15 feet of the waterline on the structure of any
beaver house or burrow.

• disturb or destroy dams, houses or burrows of beavers
while beaver trapping.

• take beaver, fisher, mink, or muskrat by any means other
than by trap.

• use steel jaw traps with any teeth on or attached to them.

• set a trap, trapset or snare upon a tree, post or other
natural or man-made object at any point more than three
linear feet from the surface of the earth (whether such
surface is water, soil or rock) measured at right angle from
the surface to the trap or trapset. Traps may be set on
natural earthen mounds, such as ant hills or muskrat
houses, constructed without human assistance.

• set traps other than water sets in March.

• trap in state parks, in safety zones located in state forests and
wildlife management areas, in Harpers Ferry NHP and on
National Park Service land within the New River Gorge NR.

• trap on a state WMA without obtaining a permit from the
district wildlife biologist
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General Regulations - HUNTING

Archery Regulations---------------
Nonresident bow hunters must possess a Class EE license,
and Class CS/LE and DS stamps to hunt bear.

For bow fishing, a resident is required to have a fishing
license;  a  nonresident  is required to have a Class E or XXJ
license, and a Class CS/LE stamp.

A bow may be substituted for a firearm during any season for
which firearms are legal except during muzzleloading
firearms deer seasons.

It is illegal to:
• have a gun and bow afield together, except that persons

who have a concealed weapons permit may carry a
concealed handgun for self defense only.

• hunt with a crossbow.

• hunt turkey, bear, deer or boar with arrows having less
than two sharp cutting edges, measuring less than 3/4 of
an inch in width.

• use an arrow with an explosive, drug-laced or poisoned
head or shaft.

• have a bow in the woods during closed seasons on game
animals and non-migratory game birds.

• use dogs while bow hunting for black bear except during
the bear firearms season (exception is only for counties
where dogs are legal).

• hunt with a locking device capable of holding a bow at
full draw, except with a modified bow permit issued by
the Director.

• bowhunt on state parks and wildlife refuges, Harpers Ferry
NHP, and safety zones on state forests and
wildlife management areas. All wildlife refuges are
appropriately posted.

Tagging and Transporting --------
Refer to deer, bear, wild turkey, boar and trapping sections for
specific tagging and transporting requirements.

No persons may transport or possess wildlife killed by
another hunter, unless the wildlife or parts thereof is
accompanied by a paper tag filled out legibly bearing the
signature, address, date of kill, hunting license number (if
required) and the official game checking tag number (if
required) of the hunter who killed the wildlife. The tag shall
also specify the species and quantity of wildlife.

Pistol Laws and Regulations -----
Individuals who possess a valid concealed carry permit may
carry a concealed handgun while afield hunting, hiking,
camping, fishing or in or on a motor vehicle for purposes of
self defense only.

Only persons 21 years old or older are eligible for a
Class A-1 license.

Only pistols having a barrel at least 4 inches in length are
legal for hunting.

While hunting, the licensee shall carry the pistol outside his
outer clothing, in an unconcealed and easily visible place.

A pistol may be used only during established hunting
seasons. Only single-shot muzzleloading pistols of .38 caliber
or larger are legal for deer during the muzzleloader season.

It is legal to hunt groundhogs in open fields with a pistol.

It is illegal to:
• take migratory game birds with a pistol.

• hunt between 1/2 hour after sunset and 1/2 hour before
sunrise with a pistol larger than .22 caliber rimfire.

• hunt bear, deer, or wild boar with a pistol using a
straight-walled case of less than .357 magnum cartridge or
a bottle-necked case of less than .24 caliber.

• hunt bear, deer, or wild boar with a muzzleloading pistol of
less than .38 caliber.

Dog Training ------------------------
Persons training dogs shall not have a firearm or other
implement for the taking of wildlife in their possession during
closed seasons on wild animals and birds. Persons participating
in the training of dogs must have a hunting license.

Residents may train dogs and hold field trials on wild
animals and birds, except deer and wild turkeys, on private
land with the landowner’s written permission, or on public
lands, at any time.

Nonresidents may train dogs during the legal small game
hunting season, or if their state offers WV hunters reciprocal
dog training privileges, they may train dogs on racccoons
from August 15 through the end of the small game season.
See additional information on bear dog training on page 28.
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When Licenses or Permits
are not Required -------------------

a) Resident landowners or their resident children or their
resident parents or resident tenants of such land, may
hunt or trap on their own land without a license during
open seasons (see definition of resident landowner
privileges on page 7).

b) Residents honorably discharged from the U.S. armed
forces receiving total permanent service connected
disability benefits or former prisoners of war as
determined by the Veterans Administration or resident
disabled veterans who qualify under West Virginia Code
17A-10-8 and are exempted from payment of a motor
vehicle  registration fee by the Commissioner of Motor
Vehicles, may hunt or trap without a license during open
seasons. Such individuals shall carry on their person an
identification card issued by the Director. Additional
licenses required to hunt: Class P; Class N; Class RG or
RB; Class A-1.

c) Ohio residents who carry valid Ohio hunting licenses may
hunt waterfowl on the Ohio River and its embayments or
tributaries to points identified by the Director or from the
West Virginia banks of said river without obtaining
West Virginia licenses, and West Virginia residents who
carry valid West Virginia hunting licenses may hunt
waterfowl on Ohio River embayments or tributaries to
designated points in Ohio or from the river’s banks in Ohio
without obtaining Ohio licenses.

Ohio hunting laws apply to residents of Ohio and
West Virginia while hunting or fishing from Ohio banks or
in Ohio embayment areas. West Virginia hunting laws
apply to residents of Ohio and West Virginia while hunting
on the Ohio River proper or from West Virginia banks and
embayment areas.

d) Residents 65 years of age or older do not need a license to
hunt or trap, but shall carry a WV driver’s license or WV
photo ID card issued by the Division of Motor Vehicles
(see page 30). Residents who have not reached their 15th
birthday may hunt without a license but they must be
accompanied by a licensed adult (exceptions, see page 30).

e) West Virginia residents on active duty in the U.S. armed
forces while on military leave, may hunt or trap in season
without obtaining a license. Leave papers shall be carried
while hunting or trapping.

f) Persons participating in field trials permitted by the
Director shall not be required to have a hunting license.

g) Persons under 16 years of age do not need a state or
federal migratory waterfowl stamp.

HUNTING - General Regulations

Mandatory Hunter
Education Requirement ----------

No hunting license may be issued to a person born on or
after January 1,1975 unless the person presents to the
license agent a certificate of satisfactory completion of a
Hunter Education Course approved by the Hunter
Education Association or the Director. Persons who
purchase a lifetime hunting license before their 15th
birthday must complete a certified hunter education
course before using the license.

Hunter Education Classes Information:

1-800-243-9968 or www.wvdnr.gov
(Click on law enforcement.)

Point System for
Hunting Violations-----------------

Persons found guilty of negligent shooting of humans or
livestock will have their hunting licenses revoked for five years.

For bear hunting violation penalties see page 25.

Persons making false application for a license will have their
license privileges suspended for one (1) year.

Points are assigned for other hunting violations:

-10 points use of spotlight with firearms or other implement.

-6 points illegal possession or sale of wildlife or illegally
killing deer, boar, or turkey.

-6 points hunting from a motor vehicle.

-4 points all other hunting violations.

When a violator accumulates 10 or more hunting or fishing
points combined, his/her licenses will be revoked for a period
of two years.

Points will be removed on the second anniversary or upon
restoration of the license.

Sunday Hunting---------------
In any county where Sunday hunting has not been
prohibited by local election, Sunday hunting is legal on
private land only with written permission of the
landowner. Hunting is prohibited on any Sunday
preceding the Monday opening of a big game season
(deer, turkey, boar or bear).  Check with your county
DNR officer or county clerk to see if Sunday hunting is
legal in your county.
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Wildlife Management Areas
and State Forests -----------------

Rules and regulations governing hunting and trapping on
state owned and leased lands are the same as on adjacent
private lands except as follows:

a) Trapping permit, available from District Wildlife Biologist,
required on all areas.

b) McClintic, Hillcrest and Green Bottom WMAs -  Hunting
only in accordance with special rules established for the area
(see pages 2, 9 and 12).

c) WMAs and state forests with camping areas require a
permit and fee. (See regulations posted at each area.)

d) Camping is lawful ONLY in designated areas.

e) Use of ATVs and snowmobiles is prohibited. All-Terrain
Vehicle (ATV) means any motor vehicle designed for off-road
use not subject to the vehicle registration requirements of
Chapter 17A of the West Virginia Code.

f) Driving a vehicle, ATV, or snowmobile so as to harass or
chase wildlife is prohibited.

g) Maximum speed limit for vehicles on WMAs and state
forests is 30 miles per hour, unless otherwise posted. All
traffic signs and directions must be observed.

h) Driving a vehicle in a manner which creates a nuisance to
other persons by repetitive or continuous cruising is prohibited.

i) Class Q hunting facilities are available on some WMAs.
Contact the District Wildlife Biologist for more information.

j) Only portable tree stands may be used on public lands.

Definitions of Terms Used
Possession limit - game which is in any way under the
hunter’s control. The daily bag limit for  raccoon may be
possessed for each day the season is open. Example: the
total of all game in a car, truck, home freezer, commercial
food locker, or any other storage method or place.

Protected - no open season. Hunting at any time shall be
illegal for protected wildlife.

Resident - a person who has been a domiciled resident
continuously in West Virginia for 30 consecutive days or
more immediately prior to the date of application for a
license or permit. This includes members of the U.S. armed
forces stationed outside the state who were West Virginia
residents at the time of entry into the service and full-time
students of a college or university of this state. Nonresident
students of West Virginia colleges are not eligible to apply
for Lifetime licenses. Absentee ownership of land in
West Virginia does not constitute legal residence.

Nonresident - person who does not meet the requirements
of a resident.

Resident landowner privileges - apply to West Virginia
residents who own land in West Virginia, their resident
children and parents, or resident tenants. Resident tenants
must permanently live on the land.

Concurrent hunting - hunting of the same and/or other
species during a legally prescribed season.

Big Game - black bear, deer, wild turkey and boar.

Hunt - to chase, catch or take wild birds or animals.

Permanently disabled in the lower extremities - a person
permanently and totally disabled from the waist down who
is unable to ambulate without the full-time use of a walker,
two crutches or a wheelchair.

Bow - a longbow, recurve bow, or compound bow that is hand-
drawn, hand-held and held at full draw without the aid of any
mechanical device. Triggering devices or release aids are legal.

Modified bow - a longbow, recurve bow, or compound bow
that has been modified to hold the bow at full draw to
accommodate a physical impairment of the user.

Public lands - State or Federal lands owned, leased,
licensed to or under the control of West Virginia DNR for
wildlife management purposes.

Private lands - lands owned by an individual(s),
partnership, heirship, club, organization or company and/or
not qualifying as public land.

Bait - any feed or edible enticement.

Baiting - the direct or indirect placing or exposing of bait so
as to attract or entice wildlife to an area where hunters are
attempting to take them. An area is considered to be baited
for 10 days after bait is removed.

Regulations Meeting
Schedule------------------------
March 21, 2005
Ellenboro • Fairmont • Lewisburg • Martinsburg
Milton • Summersville

March 22, 2005
Elkins • Glen Dale • Logan • Moorefield • Parkersburg
Twin Falls Resort State Park
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General Regulations

Resident Deer Hunting License
Privileges with ---------------------

Annual Class X and Class XJ, Lifetime Class A-L and AB-L,
Class C, Military, Disabled Veteran, former POW, Senior
Citizen and Underage: entitle a hunter to take one deer during
the archery season, one antlered deer during the bucks-only
season and one deer during the muzzleloader season.

Additional licenses must be purchased:
• To hunt an additional deer in deer firearm seasons: Class RG

• To archery hunt an additional deer: Class RB

• To hunt antlerless deer in antlerless season: Class N

• To hunt with a handgun: Class A-1

Resident Deer Hunting License
Privileges with ---------------------

Annual Class A and Class Q (must also have a Class CS):
entitles the hunter to hunt one antlered deer during the
bucks-only season.

Additional licenses must be purchased:
• To hunt an additional deer in deer firearm seasons: Class RG

• To archery hunt deer: Class U

• To archery hunt an additional deer: Class RB

• To muzzleloader hunt deer in muzzleloader season: Class V

• To hunt antlerless deer in antlerless season: Class N

• To  hunt  on  national  forest lands: Class  I

• To hunt with a handgun: Class A-1

Resident Landowner Privileges
West Virginia resident landowners may hunt on their own
land without obtaining a license. See definition of resident
landowner privileges on page 7.

A resident landowner hunting on his/her own land without a
license can take the same number of deer as a licensed
hunter. A hunter (licensee or landowner) cannot take more
than the number of deer allowed in the respective seasons.

After killing a deer as a landowner, a person cannot take
another deer by use of a license for which the privilege has
already been used. EXAMPLE - if a landowner has a Class X or A
license and kills a deer on his own land during a deer season,
the landowner cannot use the Class X or A  license to kill
another deer. He/she can check the deer in as a landowner kill
or on the Class X or A license. Either way, the Class X or A
privilege has been used for that season.

Nonresident License
Privileges ---------------------------

Nonresidents ages 8 thru 14 who have satisfactorily
completed a Hunter Education Course may purchase a Class
XXJ license and a Class CS/LE license which entitles the
holder to take one deer during the archery season, one
antlered deer during the bucks-only season, and one deer
during the muzzleloader season.

Additional licenses must be purchased:
• to hunt an additional deer in deer firearm seasons:

Class RRG

• to archery hunt an additional deer: Class RRB

• to hunt antlerless deer in antlerless season: Class NN

All other nonresidents, regardless of age or landowner status,
must purchase an annual Class E, and a Class CS/LE license
which entitles the holder to hunt one antlered deer during the
bucks-only season.

Additional licenses must be purchased:
• to hunt an additional deer in deer firearm seasons: Class RRG

• to archery hunt deer: Class UU

• to archery hunt an additional deer: Class RRB

• to muzzleloader hunt deer in muzzleloader season: Class VV

• to hunt antlerless deer in antlerless season: Class NN

• to hunt on national forest lands: Class I

• to hunt with a handgun: Class A-1
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General Regulations - DEER

Blaze Orange Requirement-
Persons hunting in counties or portions thereof where
a deer firearms season is presently open shall wear a
blaze orange outer garment of at least 400 square
inches. This applies to counties or parts thereof with a
special youth/Class Q deer hunt. This does not apply to
waterfowl hunters and persons engaged in farming
activities on their own land.

Firearms/Bows and
Equipment--------------------------

It is illegal to hunt deer with:
• a shotgun using ammunition loaded with more than one

solid ball, or a rifle using rimfire ammunition of less than
.25 caliber.

• a fully automatic rifle, shotgun or handgun.

• a handgun using a straight-walled case of less than
.357 magnum cartridge or a bottle-necked case of less
than .24 caliber.

• a muzzleloader of less than .38 caliber during the
muzzleloader deer season.

• anything other than a bow or single-shot muzzleloading
firearm on Green Bottom WMA.

Hunting Hours and
Restrictions ------------------------

After a person has killed his/her legal daily limit of deer, they
may not participate further in hunting deer with either a bow
or firearm the remainder of the day.

After killing the legal limit of deer, a hunter shall not be afield
with any firearm with solid ball ammunition or shot shells
containing larger than No. 4 shot unless legally hunting bear.

Field Tagging, Checking and
Transporting -----------------------

Each person killing a deer must, within one hour and before
moving the carcass from where it was killed, complete and
attach the game field tag supplied with his/her license. This tag
must bear the hunter’s name, address, hunting license number
(if required) and the date, time and county of kill. The field tag
must remain on the carcass until it is dressed for consumption.

The unskinned carcass or the fresh skin and head of each deer,
shall be delivered to a conservation officer or an official
checking station for checking and retagging:

1) before it is transported beyond the county adjacent to the
county of kill,

2) within 72 hours from when it was killed or 24 hours from
the close of the respective season, whichever comes first.

All deer killed in Logan, McDowell, Mingo or Wyoming counties
shall be checked and retagged at an official game checking
station in the four-county area within 24 hours of the time of kill.
Deer killed outside these four counties may not be checked
within the four-county area.

A hunter may not hunt deer until the day after any previously
killed deer has been checked, except for that portion of the
antlerless deer season during which two deer may be taken on
the same day on private land provided the first deer has been
legally checked.

Common Violations -------------------
Following are the most common violations observed by
Conservation Officers during the deer hunting seasons:

Hunting without license

Improper license

Making false application for license

Loaded gun in a vehicle

Failure to field tag deer

Illegal possession of wildlife

Hunting without permission

Exceeding the limits

Shooting at decoy deer
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Archery Hunting

Three deer may be taken with a bow during the archery
season -- the first deer must be taken on one of the following
valid base licenses or license combinations: resident (Class X,
Class XJ, Class AB-L, Class A-L, Classes A+CS+U, or Classes
Q+CS+U); or a free license: Military, Disabled Veteran,
former POW, or Senior Citizen; or nonresident (Classes
XXJ+CS/LE or Classes E+CS/LE+UU). Underage residents
and resident landowners (see page 7) may take a first archery
deer without a license. Two additional deer may also be taken
with Class RB or Class RRB licenses (one per license) or by
resident landowners hunting on their own property. One of
the deer taken on a Class RB or RRB license must be an
antlerless deer.

Deer of either sex may be hunted statewide with a bow during
the archery season.  A bow may be substituted for a firearm
during any deer firearms season except muzzleloader season.

It is illegal:
• to be afield with both gun and bow, or with a gun and any

arrows, except that persons who have a concealed weapons
permit may carry a concealed handgun for self-defense only.

• to hunt with a crossbow and/or have a crossbow afield.

• to hunt deer with arrows having less than two sharp cutting
edges, measuring less than 3/4 of an inch in width.

• to use a bow-locking device, except with a modified bow
permit issued by the Director.

• to use an arrow with an explosive, drug-laced or poisoned
head or shaft.

Special Urban Deer Archery Season
A special archery deer hunting season is available  between
October 2 - December 31, 2004 to incorporated cities, towns,
villages and homeowner associations. To implement the hunt,
homeowner associations must submit a written request to the
Director by March 1 of the hunt year. During this special season
two deer may be taken which shall not  apply to the regular
archery season bag limit. For information regarding this special
archery deer hunt contact your local municipal government,
homeowner  association or the appropriate DNR office.

Additional Deer
Archery Licenses - Class RB
and Class RRB ---------------------

During a calendar year a resident may purchase only two
class RB licenses and a nonresident may purchase only two
Class RRB licenses. The Class RB or Class RRB archery
licenses must be purchased before October 16, 2004, prior to
the opening of archery season.

Only one deer may be taken with each Class RB or RRB
license. Hunting on the Class RB or Class RRB licenses can
begin on the day after legally checking the first deer. Class RB
or RRB licenses cannot be used for taking deer with a firearm.

Two additional deer may be taken with Class RB or Class RRB
licenses or by a landowner hunting on their own land during
the archery season. One Class RB or Class RRB license or
landowner license privilege must be used to take an
antlerless deer.

There is an annual limit of two archery deer, one of which
must be antlerless, for the four-county area of Logan,
McDowell, Mingo and Wyoming counties. One Class RB or
RRB license is valid in these counties, except if the first
archery deer was taken in a county open to firearms deer
hunting, then two deer (one must be antlerless) may be taken
on Class RB or RRB licenses.

To take additional archery deer, all residents except resident
landowners (see page 7) hunting on their land are required to
purchase Class RB licenses. All nonresidents are required to
purchase Class RRB archery licenses to take additional
archery deer. (See license requirements on page 8.)

Concurrent Hunting During
Deer Archery Season ------------

A bow hunter may take small game at any time the small game
season is open, except the first three days of bucks-only season
or on the same day a deer was legally taken.

Archery hunting is legal during muzzleloader deer season but
must be done under archery deer hunting regulations.

Archery hunters must wear a blaze orange outer garment of
at least 400 square inches during any deer firearms seasons.Special Buck Harvest Restriction

on McClintic WMA -----------
All antlered deer taken during archery season on
McClintic WMA must have a minimum outside antler
spread of 14 inches (ear tip to ear tip).

Daily Bag Limit: 1 Opening Date: October 16 Closing Date: December 31
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Bucks-Only Hunting
Daily Bag Limit: 1 Opening Date: November 22 Closing Date: December 4

Only deer having one or both antlers 3
inches or more in length above the hairline are legal during
the bucks-only season (see concurrent hunting during bucks-
only season for antlerless deer on page 15).

Two deer may be taken with a gun or bow during the bucks-
only season -- the first deer must be taken on one of the
following valid base licenses or license combinations:
resident (Class X, Class XJ, Class AB-L, Class A-L, Classes
A+CS, or Classes Q+CS); or free license: Military, Disabled
Veteran, former POW or Senior Citizen; or nonresident
(Classes XXJ+CS/LE or Classes E+CS/LE). Underage
residents and resident landowners (see page 7) may take a
first antlered deer without a license. A second deer may only
be taken with a Class RG, Class RRG, or by resident
landowners hunting on their own property.

Legal firearms for hunting deer during
the bucks-only season shall include:
• a rifle using center-fire ammunition.

• a rifle using .25 caliber or larger rimfire ammunition.

• a muzzleloading rifle with or without scope and
muzzleloading pistol of .38 caliber or larger.

• a handgun using a straight-walled case of .357 magnum
cartridge or larger or a bottle-necked case of .24 caliber or
larger.  A Class A-1 handgun license is required.

• a shotgun loaded with solid ball ammunition.

Special Muzzleloader Buck Season
Wilson Cove Deer Study Area located in Hardy County on the
George Washington National Forest and the Hillcrest WMA,
located in Hancock County will have a bucks-only muzzleloader
season November 22 through December 6. Only single shot
muzzleloaders, including “in-lines”, of .38 caliber or larger are
legal. These two areas will not be open to the traditional rifle
bucks-only firearms season. All muzzleloader license
requirements apply. (See pages 12 and 20.)

Antlerless deer may be taken on Class N/NN or RG/RRG
licenses on private land in 51 specified counties or parts
thereof during Bucks-Only season (see page 16).

Bucks-Only
Firearms Season

All counties except Logan, Mingo,
McDowell and Wyoming are
open to Bucks-Only Season.

Open to Bucks-Only Deer Season
November 22 - December 4

Closed to All Firearms Deer Hunting
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Special Buck Harvest Restriction
on McClintic WMA -----------
All antlered deer taken during bucks-only season on
McClintic WMA must have a minimum outside antler
spread of 14 inches (ear tip to ear tip).

Bucks-Only Hunting - DEER

Concurrent Hunting During
Bucks-Only Deer Season ------

Antlerless deer hunting is legal on private land and Lewis
Wetzel, McClintic  and Hughes River WMAs during the bucks-
only season (November 22 thru December 4), in 51 counties or
portions thereof. To hunt antlerless deer during the bucks-only
season, a valid Class N or NN license (antlerless permit) is
required for all hunters, regardless of age, except for resident
landowners (see page 7) hunting on their own land. Hunters
may take only one deer per day, therefore, a buck and an
antlerless deer may not be taken on the same day.

All  hunting, except for deer, is prohibited during the first
three days of bucks-only season in all counties having a
bucks-only  season; provided, that hunting for waterfowl is
legal on lakes, rivers, and waterways during the open
waterfowl season, and hunting for bear is legal in specified
counties. Small game hunting is legal beginning November
25, 2004. While hunting small game during the bucks-only
season, No. 4 shot or smaller and slugs may be carried with a
shotgun only if the hunter is legally hunting deer or bear.

A combination rifle-shotgun (over-under, etc.) is legal for deer
hunting and concurrent small game hunting.

After killing the legal limit of deer, a hunter shall not be afield
with any firearm with solid ball ammunition or shot shells
containing larger than No. 4 shot unless legally hunting bear.

It is illegal to hunt small game during the bucks-only deer
season with any centerfire rifle, with any rimfire rifle larger
than .22 caliber, or with a shotgun using solid ball
ammunition or shot larger than No. 4 in a county that is not
open to bucks-only deer hunting.

Archery hunting for deer is legal during bucks-only season. A
bow may be substituted for a firearm to take antlered deer, or
if hunting on a Class N or NN license, antlerless deer may be
taken during the bucks-only season on private land in
specified counties (see pages 10-12).

All persons hunting during a deer firearms season, except
those engaged in farming activities on their own land and
waterfowl hunters, must wear at least 400 square inches of
blaze orange as an outer garment.

Additional Deer Gun Licenses:
Class RG and Class RRG ------

During a calendar year a resident may purchase only one
Class RG license and a nonresident may purchase only one
Class RRG license.

Only one deer may be taken with a Class RG or Class RRG
license. The Class RG and Class RRG licenses must be
purchased  before November 22, 2004, prior to the opening of
bucks-only season. The Class RG and Class RRG licenses are
valid for buck hunting in all counties open to bucks-only season.

To take an additional deer, all residents except resident
landowners (see page 7) while hunting on their own land are
required to purchase a Class RG gun license. All nonresidents
are required to purchase a Class RRG gun license if they
choose to take an additional deer. (See license requirements
on page 8.)

During the bucks-only season, hunting on the Class RG or
Class RRG gun licenses can begin on the day after legally
checking the first antlered deer. If used for antlerless deer, the
first antlerless deer must have been checked by using a
valid Class N or NN license or as a landowner.

A Class RG or Class RRG gun license not used in the bucks-
only season is valid to take an additional deer in the antlerless
(Class N) or muzzleloader seasons in specified counties. (See
antlerless and muzzleloader sections).

ATV use is prohibited on all

Wildlife Management Areas,

State Forests and National Forests

in West Virginia.

15



D
ee

r 
- A

nt
le

rl
es

s 
H

un
tin

g
C

ou
nt

ie
s 

or
 P

ar
ts

 T
he

re
of

 a
nd

W
ild

lif
e 

M
an

ag
em

en
t 

A
re

as
 O

pe
n 

to
U

nl
im

it
ed

 R
es

id
en

t 
C

la
ss

 N
 a

nd
N

on
re

si
de

nt
 C

la
ss

 N
N

(S
ea

so
n 

B
ag

 L
im

it
: 

1)

N
ov

em
be

r 2
2 

- D
ec

em
be

r 4
 a

nd
D

ec
em

be
r 2

9 
- 3

1 
(P

riv
at

e 
la

nd
 o

nl
y)

D
ec

em
be

r 6
 - 

11
 (P

riv
at

e 
an

d 
pu

bl
ic

 la
nd

)

G
re

en
br

ie
r (

pu
bl

ic
 la

nd
)

M
er

ce
r

M
on

ro
e 

(p
ub

lic
 la

nd
)

P
en

dl
et

on
 (p

ub
lic

 la
nd

)

P
oc

ah
on

ta
s 

(p
ub

lic
 la

nd
)

P
re

st
on

 (W
es

t o
f C

he
at

 R
iv

er
)

R
an

do
lp

h

R
al

ei
gh

Tu
ck

er

C
ou

nt
ie

s 
or

 P
ar

ts
 T

he
re

of
 O

pe
n 

to
U

nl
im

it
ed

 R
es

id
en

t 
C

la
ss

 N
,

N
on

re
si

de
nt

 C
la

ss
 N

N
, T

w
o 

(2
)

A
dd

it
io

na
l C

la
ss

 N
/N

N
 a

nd
 R

G
/R

R
G

(D
ai

ly
 B

ag
 L

im
it

: 
1*

)

N
ov

em
be

r 2
2 

- D
ec

em
be

r 4
 a

nd
D

ec
em

be
r 2

9 
- 3

1 
(P

riv
at

e 
la

nd
 o

nl
y*

*)

D
ec

em
be

r 6
 - 

11
 (P

riv
at

e 
an

d 
pu

bl
ic

 la
nd

)

C
ou

nt
ie

s 
or

 P
ar

ts
 T

he
re

of
 a

nd
 W

ild
lif

e 
M

an
ag

em
en

t
A

re
as

 a
nd

 N
um

be
r 

of
 L

im
it

ed
 R

es
id

en
t 

Pe
rm

it
s

A
va

ila
bl

e 
fo

r 
A

nt
le

rl
es

s 
Se

as
on

(S
ea

so
n 

B
ag

 L
im

it
: 

1)

W
ild

lif
e 

M
an

ag
em

en
t A

re
as

D
ec

em
be

r 6
 - 

11

A
m

he
rs

t/
P

ly
m

ou
th

 W
M

A
10

0
(P

ut
na

m
 C

ou
nt

y)

B
ee

ch
 F

or
k 

W
M

A
 (W

ay
ne

 C
ou

nt
y)

10
0

B
ig

 U
gl

y 
W

M
A

 (L
in

co
ln

 C
ou

nt
y)

10
0

B
lu

es
to

ne
 W

M
A

30
0

(S
um

m
er

s/
M

er
ce

r/
M

on
ro

e 
C

ou
nt

ie
s)

B
ur

ns
vi

lle
 W

M
A

 (B
ra

xt
on

 C
ou

nt
y)

25
0

C
hi

ef
 C

or
ns

ta
lk

 W
M

A
20

0
(M

as
on

 C
ou

nt
y)

C
ro

ss
 C

re
ek

 W
M

A
 (B

ro
ok

e 
C

ou
nt

y)
50

Ea
st

 L
yn

n 
La

ke
 W

M
A

10
0

(W
ay

ne
 C

ou
nt

y)

El
k 

R
iv

er
 W

M
A

 (B
ra

xt
on

 C
ou

nt
y)

15
0

Fo
rk

 C
re

ek
 W

M
A

 (B
oo

ne
 C

ou
nt

y)
10

0

H
ill

cr
es

t W
M

A
 (H

an
co

ck
 C

ou
nt

y)
50

S
to

ne
co

al
 W

M
A

10
0

(L
ew

is
/U

ps
hu

r C
ou

nt
ie

s)

S
to

ne
w

al
l J

ac
ks

on
 W

M
A

50
0

(L
ew

is
 C

ou
nt

y)

A
n 

an
tl

er
le

ss
 d

ee
r 

is
 a

ny
 d

ee
r 

ha
vi

ng
 n

o 
an

tl
er

s 
or

 h
av

in
g

 b
ot

h 
an

tl
er

s 
le

ss
th

an
 3

 in
ch

es
 lo

ng
 a

b
ov

e 
th

e 
ha

ir
lin

e.

*
A

 m
ax

im
um

 o
f f

ou
r a

nt
le

rle
ss

 d
ee

r m
ay

 b
e 

ta
ke

n 
(o

ne
 p

er
 d

ay
, e

xc
ep

t t
ha

t t
w

o
an

tle
rle

ss
 d

ee
r m

ay
 b

e 
ta

ke
n 

on
 th

e 
sa

m
e 

da
y,

 D
ec

em
be

r 6
 - 

11
, 2

00
4,

 o
n 

pr
iv

at
e 

la
nd

on
ly

, p
ro

vi
de

d 
th

at
 th

e 
fir

st
 d

ee
r i

s 
le

ga
lly

 c
he

ck
ed

 p
rio

r t
o 

hu
nt

in
g 

a 
se

co
nd

 d
ee

r)
. T

hr
ee

de
er

 m
ay

 b
e 

ta
ke

n 
w

ith
 C

la
ss

 N
/N

N
 li

ce
ns

es
. O

ne
 d

ee
r m

ay
 a

ls
o 

be
 ta

ke
n 

w
ith

 a
n

un
fil

le
d 

C
la

ss
 R

G
 o

r C
la

ss
 R

R
G

 g
un

 li
ce

ns
e 

in
 a

 c
ou

nt
y 

op
en

 fo
r i

ts
 u

se
 in

 th
e 

an
tle

rle
ss

se
as

on
. S

ee
 p

ag
es

 1
0-

12
.

**
In

cl
ud

es
 L

ew
is

 W
et

ze
l, 

M
cC

lin
tic

 a
nd

 H
ug

he
s 

R
iv

er
 W

M
A

s,
 h

ow
ev

er
 th

e 
se

as
on

 b
ag

 li
m

it
fo

r L
ew

is
 W

et
ze

l i
s 

on
e 

de
er

.

N
ov

em
be

r 2
2 

- D
ec

em
be

r 4
an

d 
 D

ec
em

be
r 2

9 
- 3

1
(P

riv
at

e 
la

nd
 o

nl
y)

D
ec

em
be

r 6
 - 

11
(P

riv
at

e 
an

d 
pu

bl
ic

 la
nd

)

B
oo

ne
14

39

C
la

y
12

6
(P

riv
at

e 
la

nd
 o

nl
y 

N
or

th
 o

f E
lk

 R
iv

er
)

N
ic

ho
la

s
10

0

W
eb

st
er

16
4

Antlerless Hunting

B
ar

bo
ur

B
er

ke
le

y

B
ra

xt
on

B
ro

ok
e

C
ab

el
l

C
al

ho
un

D
od

dr
id

ge

Fa
ye

tt
e

(N
or

th
 a

nd
 E

as
t o

f N
ew

 R
iv

er
an

d 
Ea

st
 o

f G
au

le
y 

R
iv

er
)

G
ilm

er

G
ra

nt

G
re

en
br

ie
r (

pr
iv

at
e 

la
nd

)

H
am

ps
hi

re

H
an

co
ck

H
ar

dy

H
ar

ri
so

n

Ja
ck

so
n

Je
ff

er
so

n

K
an

aw
ha

(N
or

th
 o

f E
lk

 R
iv

er
 a

nd
 W

es
t

of
 C

or
rid

or
 G

)

Le
w

is

Li
nc

ol
n

M
ar

io
n

M
ar

sh
al

l

M
as

on

M
in

er
al

M
on

on
ga

lia

M
on

ro
e 

(p
riv

at
e 

la
nd

)

M
or

ga
n

O
hi

o

P
en

dl
et

on
 (p

riv
at

e 
la

nd
)

P
le

as
an

ts

Po
ca

ho
nt

as
 (p

riv
at

e 
la

nd
)

Pr
es

to
n 

(E
as

t o
f C

he
at

 R
iv

er
)

P
ut

na
m

R
itc

hi
e

R
oa

ne

S
um

m
er

s

Ta
yl

or

Ty
le

r

U
ps

hu
r

W
ay

ne

W
et

ze
l

W
ir

t

W
oo

d

16



Antlerless Hunting - DEER

In  all  instances  the  first  deer  taken during the antlerless
deer season or the portion of the antlerless deer season
concurrent with bucks-only season must be taken on a Class
N or NN license or as a landowner.

All West Virginia residents, regardless of age, must
purchase a Class N license to hunt during the antlerless
season with the following exceptions:

• Resident landowners (see page 7) may hunt antlerless
deer on their land without a license provided the land is in
a county or part thereof open to antlerless deer hunting.

• Resident landowners, their resident children or resident
parents do not have to live on the property. However, a
resident tenant must permanently live on the land.

• Resident stockholders of resident corporations formed for
the primary purpose of hunting or fishing who own in fee
no less than 1,000 acres may hunt antlerless deer on their
own land, provided the land is in a county or part thereof
open to antlerless deer hunting.

All  non-residents, military personnel, senior citizens, Class Q,
disabled veterans, former POWs  and underage hunters must
purchase a Class N or NN license to hunt antlerless deer.

Class N or NN licenses may be purchased at any license
agent, county clerk's office, the DNR Offices in Charleston
and Elkins, or on the DNR website.

Class N or NN licenses are county specific and nontransferable.

Only one antlerless deer may be taken on each Class N or
NN license.

No person may actively participate (driving) in any manner in
hunting antlerless deer without a valid Class N or NN license
or otherwise being exempt from having a Class N license.

Limited Resident Antlerless
Deer Hunting ----------------------

Four counties or parts thereof and 13 wildlife management areas
(WMAs) have a limited number of Class N licenses for resident
antlerless deer hunting. To be eligible to hunt in one of these
counties or wildlife management areas an application must be
submitted by August 13, 2004. Successful applicants will receive
notification from the DNR by mail. Resident landowners (see
page 7) may hunt on their own land in these counties or parts
thereof without a permit. See  page 16.

In limited resident antlerless counties or parts thereof and
limited resident antlerless WMAs, a hunter may take only one
deer in the antlerless season.

Unlimited Resident and
Nonresident Antlerless Deer
Hunting -----------------------------

Forty-seven counties or parts thereof have an unlimited
number of Class N/NN licenses for resident and nonresident
antlerless deer hunting. No application is necessary for these
counties. (See page 12 for antlerless regulations on Wildlife
Management Areas and other public lands.)

Limited Resident Class N
Antlerless Counties

Counties open to limited
licenses for resident
Class N Antlerless Hunting

To apply, ask your license agent for
an antlerless application or download
one from the DNR website.

Submit by August 13, 2004.
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DEER - Antlerless Hunting

Counties with a Bag Limit of Three Class N or NN Deer and Counties
for Use of Unfilled Class RG and RRG Licenses in Antlerless Season

There are 43 counties or parts thereof where a hunter can take
additional antlerless deer during the antlerless season by
purchasing additional Class N or NN licenses (see page 16).

Also, unfilled Class RG and RRG gun licenses may be used to
take an additional antlerless deer during the Class N season
in 43 specified counties or parts thereof (see page 16).

Deer hunting on the Class RG or RRG or the second (or third)
Class N or NN  license during the November 22 - December 4,
2004 and December 29 -31, 2004 portions of the antlerless

season can begin on the day after legally checking the first,
second or third antlerless deer on a Class N or NN license or
as a resident landowner (see page 7). Two antlerless deer may
be taken on the same day during December 6 - 11, 2004, on
private land only, provided the first deer is legally checked
prior to hunting a second deer.

See page 12 for antlerless regulations on Wildlife
Management Areas and other public lands.

Concurrent Hunting During the
Antlerless Deer Season ----------

During  antlerless season (December 6 - 11, 2004 and
December 29 - 31, 2004) concurrent hunting for small game
and bear (where the season is open) is legal, however, no
hunter except those legally hunting antlerless deer or bear
shall be afield with a firearm with solid ball ammunition or
shot shells containing larger than No. 4 shot.

Concurrent archery hunting is legal during the antlerless
season subject to all archery deer hunting regulations. All
persons hunting during deer firearms seasons (except those
engaged in farming activities on their own land and waterfowl
hunters) must wear at least 400 square inches of blaze orange
as an outer garment.

Concurrent waterfowl hunting (See Migratory Bird Hunting
Regulations) is legal.
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Special Split Youth and Class Q
November 6 and December 27- 28, 2004: Antlerless Deer Only

A special split deer season for youth and Class Q hunters will be
held on private land in counties or parts thereof open to
antlerless (Class N) deer hunting and on 28 specified Wildlife
Management Areas which are listed below. Only one antlerless
deer may be taken per day.

Youth hunters must:
• be at least 10 and no more than 14 years of age on opening

day of the season,

and
• be accompanied by a licensed adult, at least 21 years of age,

who must also wear 400 square inches of blaze orange,
cannot carry a gun or a bow and must remain near enough
to the youth to render advice and assistance. All
accompanying adult nonresidents must possess Class E
+ CS/LE licenses,

and, if a non-resident
• possess Class XXJ + CS/LE licenses.

Resident Class Q hunters must possess
Class Q+CS licenses.

Non-resident Class Q hunters must
possess Class Q+E+CS/LE licenses.

The bag limit of one antlerless deer per day will not count towards
the hunter's annual deer season bag limit. A class N license is not
required. Each deer taken must be field tagged (see page 9) and
checked at an official game checking station within 24 hours of
the close of each portion of this special split season and before
hunting an additional deer.

Youth and Class Q hunt participants and all other hunters
hunting on private land or on any of the  specified WMAs on the
day of the special youth and Class Q deer hunt, with the
exception of waterfowl hunters and persons engaged in farming
activities on their own land, must wear at least 400 square
inches of blaze orange as an outer garment.

Wildlife Management
Areas Open for a Special Split
Youth and Class Q Deer Season

1. Allegheny (Mineral County)

2. Amherst/Plymouth (Putnam County)

3. Becky Creek (Randolph County)

4. Beech Fork (Cabell and Wayne counties)

5. Beury Mountain (Fayette County)

6. Bluestone (Summers, Mercer and Monroe counties)

7. Big Ugly (Lincoln County)

8. Burnsville (Braxton County)

9. Chief Cornstalk (Mason County)

10. Cross Creek (Brooke County)

11. Cranberry (Nicholas, Greenbrier and Webster counties)

12. East Lynn Lake (Wayne County)

13. Frozen Camp (Jackson County)

14. Handley (Pocahontas County)

15. Hughes River (Ritchie and Wirt counties)

16. Jug (Tyler County)

17. Lewis Wetzel (Wetzel County)

18. McClintic (Mason County)

19. Mill Creek (Cabell County)

20. Nathaniel Mountain (Hampshire County)

21. Pruntytown (Taylor County)

22. Shannondale (Jefferson County)

23. Short Mountain (Hampshire County)

24. Sleepy Creek (Berkeley and Morgan counties)

25. Snake Hill (Monongalia and Preston counties)

26. Stonewall Jackson (Lewis County)

27. Stumptown (Gilmer County)

28. Underwood (Marshall and Wetzel counties)

Youth Squirrel Hunt ----------
October 2, 2004
Youth hunters must be no more than 14 years of age
and must be accompanied by a licensed adult 21 years
of age or older. The accompanying adult cannot carry a
gun or a bow and must remain near enough to the
youth to render advice and assistance.
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Muzzleloader deer hunting for antlered
deer is legal in all counties open to bucks-only season. Deer
of either sex may be taken with muzzleloaders in all counties
or parts thereof open to the Class N season.

In all limited resident antlerless counties or parts thereof and
limited resident Wildlife Management Areas a hunter may
take only one deer in the muzzleloader season.

In the muzzleloader season, only single shot muzzleloaders,
including "in-lines" of .38 caliber or larger are legal. A
muzzleloader with telescopic sights is legal. A firearm that
has been converted into a muzzleloader by use of a plug, or a
double-barreled or swivel-barreled muzzleloader is illegal for
deer hunting during the muzzleloader season.

When being transported in or on a vehicle, muzzleloaders will
be considered unloaded when uncapped or when the priming
charge is removed from the pan.

Two deer may be taken with a muzzleloader during the
muzzleloader season -- the first deer must be taken on one of
the following valid base licenses or license combinations:
resident (Class X, Class XJ, Class AB-L, Class A-L, Classes
A+CS+V, or Classes Q+CS+V); or a free license (Military,
Disabled Veteran, former POW or Senior Citizen); or
nonresident (Classes E+CS/LE+VV, or Classes XXJ+CS/
LE).  Underage residents and resident landowners (see
page 7) may take a first muzzleloader deer without a
license. A second deer may only be taken in specified
counties with an unfilled Class RG or RRG license or
by a resident landowner hunting on his/her own
land who has not filled their RG privilege.

Use of Unfilled Class RG and
Class RRG Licenses in
Muzzleloader Season ------------

Unfilled Class RG and Class RRG licenses can be used to take
an additional deer in the muzzleloader season in 43 counties
or parts thereof (see page 10). See page 12 for muzzleloader
regulations on Wildlife Management Areas and other public lands.

Deer hunting in the muzzleloader season on the Class RG or
RRG gun license can begin on the day after legally checking
the first muzzleloader deer.

In all instances, the first muzzleloader season deer must be
taken on an appropriate license or as a landowner (see page
7) and legally checked before the Class RG or RRG license is
legal (see page 10).

Muzzleloader
Counties

Wyoming, McDowell, Logan
and Mingo counties are
closed to all firearms
deer hunting.

Open to resident and
nonresident either-sex
muzzleloader hunting.

Open to resident and
nonresident bucks-only
muzzleloader hunting.

Closed to all firearms
deer hunting
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Special Buck Harvest Restriction
on McClintic WMA -----------
All antlered deer taken during muzzleloader  season on
McClintic WMA must have a minimum outside antler
spread of 14 inches (ear tip to ear tip).

Muzzleloader Hunting - DEER

Concurrent Hunting During the
Muzzleloader Deer Season -----

A bow cannot be substituted for a muzzleloader during the
muzzleloader season.  Concurrent archery hunting is legal
during the muzzleloader season subject to all archery deer
hunting regulations, except archery hunters must wear at
least 400 square inches of blaze orange as an outer garment.

Concurrent hunting is permitted during the muzzleloader
season.  Except for those persons legally hunting bear, it is
illegal to be afield with solid ball ammunition or shot larger
than No. 4 during the muzzleloader season.

It is legal to hunt small game with .22 caliber or smaller
rimfire during the muzzleloader season.

Concurrent waterfowl hunting (See Migratory Bird Hunting
Regulations) is legal.

Special Muzzleloader Buck Season
Wilson Cove Deer Study Area located in Hardy County on
the George Washington National Forest and the Hillcrest
WMA, located in Hancock County will have a bucks-only
muzzleloader season November 22 - December 4, 2004. Only
single shot muzzleloaders, including “in-lines”, of .38 caliber
or larger are legal. A muzzleloader with telescopic sights is
legal. These two areas will not be open to the traditional
rifle bucks-only firearms season. All muzzleloader license
requirements apply. (See pages 8, 12 and 20.)

The West Virginia Division of Natural Resources in
conjunction with the West Virginia Council of

Churches has designated Sunday, November 7, 2004,
as Share the Harvest Sunday. Hunters are asked to

encourage their churches to participate in this
extremely worthwhile program. Participating churches

ask each church member to donate $1.00 to support
the Hunters Helping the Hungry (HHH) program.

Since its inception in 1992, HHH has provided
venison for over 515,900 meals to needy West

Virginians. Your support, and that of your church will
help keep this beneficial program alive and growing.
Hunters may also contribute by paying part or all of
their donated deer’s processing costs. If hunters do

not wish to donate their entire deer to HHH, they may
ask their processor to set aside several

pounds of ground venison for HHH.

If your church is unable to participate on
November 7, a more convenient

Sunday may be chosen.

Donations should be mailed to:

 HHH, Mountaineer Food Bank
180 Enterprise Drive

Gassaway, WV 26624

For more information about HHH
or Share the Harvest Sunday,

contact Marshall Snedegar
at (304) 558-2771.
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General Regulations

Resident and Nonresident
Turkey Hunting License
Privileges -------------------------

Three wild turkey may be taken by hunters who possess one
of the following valid base licenses or license combinations:
resident (Class X, Class XJ, Class AB-L, Class A-L, Classes
A+CS+W, or Classes Q+CS+W); or a free license (Military,
Disabled Veteran, former POW or Senior Citizen); or
nonresident (Classes E+CS/LE+WW or Classes XXJ+CS/LE).
Underage residents and resident landowners (see page 7)
may take three turkeys without a license. Two bearded turkeys
may be taken in the spring and one of either sex in the fall.
However, no more than one turkey may be taken in the fall.

Additional licenses must be purchased:
• to hunt on national forest lands: Class I (required for

Classes A, Q, and E).

• to hunt with a handgun: Class A-1.
(Must be age 21 or older, required for all hunters except
resident landowners.)

Resident Landowner Privileges:
West Virginia resident landowners (see page 7) may hunt on
their own land without obtaining a license.

Resident landowners hunting on their own property without a
license can take the same number of turkeys as a licensed
hunter.  A hunter (licensee or landowner) cannot take more  than
the number of turkeys  allowed in the respective seasons.

Field Tagging, Checking and
Transporting ---------------------

Each person killing a turkey must, within one hour and before
moving the carcass from where it was killed, complete and attach
the game field tag supplied with his or her license.  This tag must
bear the hunter’s name, address, hunting license number (if
required) and the date, time and county of kill.  The field tag must
remain on the carcass until it is dressed for consumption.

The carcass of each turkey shall be delivered to an official
game checking station or a conservation officer for checking
and retagging before it is either skinned or transported beyond
the boundaries of the county adjacent to that in which the kill
was made and within 72 hours from when it was killed or 24
hours from the close of the respective season, whichever
comes first.  The checking tag shall remain on the bird until it
is dressed for consumption.

Common Violations -------------------
Following are the most common violations observed by
Conservation Officers during the turkey hunting seasons:

Hunting over bait

Hunting without license

Improper license

Making false application for license

Exceeding the limits

Loaded gun in a vehicle

Failure to field tag turkey

Illegal possession of wildlife

Hunting without permission

Reward--------------------------
Reward for information leading to arrest and
conviction of person found guilty of:

• illegally killing a turkey -- $200

• hunting turkey over bait -- $100

• willfully destroying a turkey nest or eggs -- $100

Sponsored by: WV Chapter of NWTF
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Only one turkey of either sex may be taken during the fall
hunting season with either a bow or a gun.

It is illegal:
• to use electronic calls.

• to hunt with the use of bait.

October 23 -
October 30

Brooke

Hancock

Marshall

Ohio

October 23 -
November 6

Preston

October 23 -
November 20

Berkeley

Grant

Greenbrier

Hampshire

Hardy

Mineral

Monroe

Morgan

Nicholas

Pendleton

Pocahontas

Randolph

Tucker

Webster

Counties and Season
Dates --------------------------------

2004 Fall Season

Fall Turkey Counties
and Season Dates

October 23 - October 30

October 23 - November 6

October 23 - November 20

Closed
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2005 Spring Gobbler Hunting
Statewide: April 25 - May 21, 2005

The Division of Natural Resources
conducts an annual Spring Gobbler Survey.  Spring turkey
hunters interested in participating in the survey should
contact the following office:

Division of Natural Resources Operations Center
c/o James Pack
P.O. Box 67 • Elkins, WV 26241

(304) 637-0245 • email: jimpack@wvdnr.gov

Regulations ------------------------
Shooting hours -- One-half hour before sunrise to 1 p.m.

It is illegal to:
• have an uncased firearm or a bow in your possession in

the woods after 1 p.m.

• hunt with dogs

• use electronic calls

• hunt with the use of bait

Youth Spring Gobbler Hunt -----
A special one day youth spring gobbler hunt will be held on
Saturday, April 23, 2005.

The bag limit is one bearded turkey and the harvested bird
will count toward the hunter’s annual bag limit. Only
shotguns using shot size 4, 5 or 6 are legal.

Youth hunters must:
• be at least 10 and no more than 14 years of age on opening

day of the season,

and
• be accompanied by a licensed adult, at least 21 years of

age, who cannot carry a gun or a bow and must remain
close enough to render advice and assistance.

and, if a non-resident
• possess Class XXJ + CS/LE licenses.

Non-resident adults accompanying
youth hunters must possess Classes
E+WW+CS/LE licenses.

24



General Regulations
Season Limit: 1

Resident and Nonresident Bear
Hunting License Privileges ------

To hunt black bear, hunters must possess one of the following
valid license combinations: resident (Classes X+DS, Classes
XJ+DS, Classes AB-L+DS, Classes A-L+DS, Classes
A+CS+DS or Classes Q+CS+DS); or a free license (Military,
Disabled Veteran, former POW or Senior Citizen); or nonresident
(Classes EE+DS+CS/LE). Underage residents and resident
landowners (see page 7) may hunt bear without a license.

Additional licenses must be purchased:
• To hunt on national forest lands: Class I (required for

Classes A, Q and EE)

• To hunt with a handgun: Class A-1 (must be 21 or older,
required for all hunters except resident landowners)

It is illegal to:
• hunt bears with the use of bait.

• feed bears.

• hunt a bear with

(a) a shotgun using ammunition loaded with more than
one solid ball,

(b) a rifle of less than .25 caliber using rimfire ammunition

(c) a pistol or revolver using a straight-walled case of less
than .357 magnum cartridge or a bottle-necked case
of less than .24 caliber or

(d) a muzzleloading pistol of less than .38 caliber.

• hunt bear between 1/2 hour after sunset and 1/2 hour
before sunrise.

• kill or attempt to kill any bear through the use of poison,
explosives, snares, steel traps or deadfalls.

• shoot at or kill a cub bear weighing less than 100 pounds
or to kill any bear accompanied by such cub.

• pursue a bear, after the chase has begun, with dogs not in
use at the beginning of the hunt.

• kill more than one bear per year.

• organize for commercial purposes, or to professionally
outfit a bear hunt, or to give or receive any consideration
whatsoever  or  any donation in  money, goods or services
in connection with a bear hunt.

• for nonresidents to hunt bear with dogs, except in certain
designated counties during the bear gun season.

Field Tagging,
Checking and Transporting -----

Each person killing a bear must, within one hour and before
moving the carcass from where it was killed, complete and
attach the game field tag supplied with his/her license. This tag
must bear the hunter’s name, address, hunting license number
(if required) and the date, time and county of kill. The field tag
must remain on the carcass until it is dressed for consumption.

A person killing a bear must, within 24 hours after the kill,
transport the bear or its fresh skin to a conservation officer or
an official game checking station for retagging. A checking
tag must be affixed to the bear before any part of it may be
transported more than 75 miles from the point of kill, and
shall remain on the skin until it is tanned or mounted.

Penalties For Chapter 20
Bear Law Violations ----------
These penalties are not subject to suspension by
the court.

1st Offense
$1,000 to $5,000 fine or 30 to 100 days in jail, or both.
Also includes suspension of hunting and  fishing
licenses for two years.

2nd Offense
$2,000 to $7,000 fine or 30 days to one year in jail, or
both. Also includes suspension of hunting and fishing
licenses for life.

3rd Offense
FELONY --  $5,000 to $10,000 fine or 1 to 5 years in
prison, or both.

25



Archery Season
Opening Date: October 16 Closing Date: November 20

October 16 -
November 20

Closed

The use of dogs while bow hunting for black

bear is illegal during the bear archery season.

Cranberry Closed Area ----------
The Cranberry Closed Area is bounded as follows: Starting at
Dyer on Forest Service Route 86, the boundary proceeds
along Forest Service Route 86 east to Forest Service Route 76
(The Black Mountain Road); the boundary follows Forest
Service Route 76 south to the intersection with the Highland
Scenic Highway (State Route 150); the line then follows State
Route 150 to State Route 39. The southern boundary of the
Closed Area follows State Route 39 to the Nicholas County
line; then proceeds north following the Nicholas County line
to Forest Service Route 76, it then follows Forest Service
Route 76 north to Forest Service Route 101. The boundary
then follows Forest Service Route 101 north to Dyer.
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Gun Season
Season Limit: 1

Can Use Dogs
December 6 - 31 November 1 - 6 and

December 6 - 31

Barbour (East of Route 92) Boone
Grant Fayette
Greenbrier Kanawha
Hardy Raleigh
Mineral (West of New Creek)
Monroe (East of Route 219)
Nicholas
Pendleton
Pocahontas
Preston
Randolph
Tucker
Webster

November 1 - 6 and
December 6 - 31

December 6 - 31

Cranberry Closed Area

Closed

A bow may be substituted for a firearm during bear

firearms season. Cannot Use Dogs

November 22 - 27

December 6 - 11

November 22 - 27

Boone
Fayette
Kanawha
Raleigh

December 6 - 11

Barbour
(West of Route 92)

Berkeley
Braxton
Cabell
Clay
Hampshire
Jefferson
Lewis
Lincoln
Logan
Marion
Mason

McDowell
Mercer
Mingo
Mineral
(East of New Creek)

Monongalia
Monroe
(West of Route 219)

Morgan
Putnam
Summers
Upshur
Wayne
Wyoming

Cranberry Closed Area

Closed
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Dog Training Regulations
The same licenses required for bear
hunting  are required for the training of
dogs on bear.

Training for nonresidents may begin October 9, 2004 and continue
throughout small game season, ending February 28, 2005.

• It is unlawful for a person to permit a dog owned by him or
under his control to chase, pursue or follow upon the track
of any deer or wild turkey.

• Dogs may be trained on bears on private land with the
landowner’s written permission, or on public lands, at
any time.

• Persons training dogs may not have firearms or other
implements for the taking of wildlife in their possession
during closed seasons on wild animals and birds.

Attention Bear Hunters----------
The Division of Natural Resources (DNR) is currently studying
factors related to the productivity and mortality of black bears
in West Virginia. As part of this research effort, radio collars,
ear tags and lip tattoos have been placed on a number of
bears. Anyone observing a bear wearing a radio collar or ear
tag is asked to report the number of the tag (if obtainable) to
the DNR. Hunters that harvest a bear with a radio collar and/
or ear tag should return this equipment to the DNR.

Successful bear hunters can contribute to this research effort
by allowing a tooth, the size of a kitchen match, to be pulled
and submitted to the bear project. This will enable wildlife
biologists to determine the bear’s age. After processing the
tooth, the DNR will provide you with the age of the animal.

A tagged bear may have been tranquilized.
Please contact the District Wildlife Biologist prior to
consumption of meat.

Bear Reproductive Tract
Collection ----------------------
WV Wildlife biologists are continuing to collect female
bear reproductive tracts. Information from these tracts,
as well as a premolar tooth from each bear will reveal
such data as breeding ages of females, number of
cubs produced, age structure of female population and
reproductive success. Please help us obtain as much
information as possible by following the outlined
procedures. You may call any District DNR office or the
Elkins Operations Center for assistance.

Farmington:  (304) 825-6787

Parkersburg:  (304) 420-4550

Pt. Pleasant:  (304) 675-0871

French Creek:  (304) 924-6211

Romney:  (304) 822-3551

Beckley:  (304) 256-6947

Elkins Operations Center:
(304) 637-0245

Procedures
1. Open bear abdominal cavity.

2. Move intestines aside.

3. Locate bladder.

4. Note uterus under bladder, over large intestine.

5. Remove uterus and ovaries by cutting as close to
vulva as possible and above ovaries. Be certain to
get both ovaries which are each about the size of
an acorn. They may be buried in large amounts of fat.

6. Put in plastic bag and place in cool location (in
refrigerator if available), and notify DNR personnel.

7. If scales are available, weigh the bear.
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2004 Archery and Gun Season
Season Limit: 1 Residents only - no application required

Archery Season: October 16 - December 31 Gun Season: October 25 -30

Wild boar may be taken during the firearms wild boar season
with a bow or with a firearm using ammunition legal in West
Virginia for taking deer (see page 9).

A field tag must be completed and attached to the animal
within one hour, or in any case prior to its removal from the
site where it was killed.

All boar killed must be taken to an official game checking
station or a conservation officer in the county of kill within 24
hours for retagging.

Use of dogs and/or bait is prohibited.

Shooting hours: 1/2 hour before sunrise to 1/2 hour after sunset.

Concurrent hunting of small game, using a shotgun or a bow,
is permitted during wild boar seasons. Concurrent hunting of
deer and bear, in counties where legal, is permitted during
boar seasons.

Only one Class P stamp is needed for firearms and archery
seasons. Any West Virginia Lifetime hunting license holder
may purchase a Class P boar hunting license. A Class P
license must be accompanied by a Class A, A-L, AB-L, X, XJ,
Q, or free license to hunt boar.

Counties Open to
Wild Boar Season
Boone • Logan • Raleigh • Wyoming
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Hunter Deer Deer Deer Deer
Type Archery Bucks-Only Antlerless Muzzleloader Black Bear Wild Turkey Wild Boar

A-L A-L A-L+N A-L A-L+DS A-L A-L+P

AB-L AB-L AB-L+N AB-L AB-L+DS AB-L AB-L+P

X X X+N X X+DS X X+P

XJ XJ XJ+N XJ XJ+DS XJ XJ+P

A+CS+U A+CS A+CS+N A+CS+V A+CS+DS A+CS+W A+CS+P

Q+CS+U Q+CS Q+CS+N Q+CS+V Q+CS+DS Q+CS+W Q+CS+P

Free License* Free License* Free License*+N Free License* Free License* Free License* Free License*+P

one of the one of the above + an RG for one additional deer in
above + up specified counties
to two RBs
for additional
deer in
specified
counties

E+CS/LE+ E+CS/LE E+CS/LE+NN E+CS/LE+VV EE+CS/LE+ E+CS/LE+ CLOSED
UU DS WW

XXJ+CS/LE XXJ+CS/LE XXJ+CS/LE+ XXJ+CS/LE XXJ+CS/LE
NN

one of the one of the above + an RRG for one additional deer in
above + up specified counties
to two RRBs
for additional
deer in
specified
counties

*Free Licenses include: Military, Senior Citizen, former POW and Disabled Veteran.
** Handgun hunting also requires Class A-1 License

Valid Base Licenses or License Combinations

Residents 65 years of age
or older -------------------------
must carry a WV driver’s license or photo ID card
issued by the DMV to hunt, trap or fish.

Additional licenses required:
• to hunt antlerless deer: Class N

• to hunt additional deer: Class RG and/or RB

• to hunt with a pistol: Class A-1

• to hunt boar: Class P

• Federal Migratory Waterfowl Stamp

• to hunt waterfowl or migratory birds: free HIP card

Residents under age 15 -----
may hunt or trap without a license when accompanied
by a licensed adult.

Licenses required:
• to hunt antlerless deer: Class N

• to hunt additional deer: Class RG and/or RB

• to hunt boar: Class P
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License Fees for 2004-2005 Hunting Season
Hunting, trapping, and fishing licenses are good for the calendar year. You must buy new licenses at the beginning of each year.

Resident Licenses -------------------
Conservation Stamp (Class CS) - Required for  all

licensed hunters and anglers except holders of
Class X, XJ, A-L, B-L and AB-L licenses ................................ $3

Hunting and Trapping License (Class A) .................................. $11
Sportsman Hunting/Trapping/Fishing License

(Class X). For ages 18 through 64. Includes
privileges of Conservation Stamp, National Forest
stamp and Class U, Class V, and Class W licenses ........... $25

Junior Sportsman Hunting/Trapping/Fishing License
(Class XJ). Similar to Class X, but for ages 15-17 .............. $15

Antlerless Deer Hunting License (Class N). Must be
accompanied by a Class A, A-L, AB-L, X, XJ, Q, or
free license ............................................................................... $8

Wild Boar Hunting License (Class P). Must be accompanied
by A, A-L, AB-L, X, XJ, Q, or free license ............................... $5

Additional Deer Hunting Stamp (Class R). One (1) or two (2)
for archery and one (1) for firearms - sold separately.
Must be accompanied by a Class A, A-L, AB-L, X, XJ, Q,
or free license ........................................................................ $10

Archery Deer Hunting Stamp (Class U). Must be
accompanied by a Class A or Q license ............................... $5

Muzzleloader Deer Hunting Stamp (Class V). Must be
accompanied by a Class A or Q license ............................... $5

Turkey Hunting Stamp (Class W). Must be accompanied
by a Class A or Q license ........................................................ $5

Fishing (Class B) ......................................................................... $11

Nonresident Licenses --------------
Conservation/Law Enforcement Stamp (Class CS/LE) -

Required for all licensed hunters and anglers ................... $10
Statewide Hunting /Trapping License (Class E) .................... $100
Statewide Fishing (Class F) ....................................................... $30
Junior Sportsman Hunting/Trapping license

(Class XXJ) (Ages 8-14) ........................................................ $15
Bear Hunting License (Class EE) ............................................ $150
Small Game Hunting License (Class H) (Six days) ................. $20
Antlerless Deer Hunting License (Class NN) -

Must be accompanied by a Class E license ....................... $25
Additional Deer Stamp (Class RR) - One (1) or two (2) for

archery and one (1) for firearms - sold separately. Must
be accompanied by a Class E or XXJ license ..................... $30

Archery Deer Hunting Stamp (Class UU) -
Must be  accompanied by a Class E license ...................... $25

Muzzleloader Deer Hunting Stamp (Class VV) -
Must be accompanied by a Class E license ....................... $25

Turkey Hunting Stamp (Class WW) - Must be
accompanied by a Class E license ...................................... $25

Commercial Small Game Shooting Preserve License
(Class J) - available only at www.wvhunt.com .................... $10

Lifetime Licenses -------------------
Resident lifetime hunting, trapping and fishing licenses serve in
lieu of the equivalent annual license; applications are available
at Division of Natural Resources offices and all license agents.
Combination Hunting, Trapping and Fishing

(Class AB-L)* ....................................................................... $570
Combination Hunting, Trapping and Fishing -

Infant (Class AB-L-I)* .......................................................... $285
Hunting and Trapping (Class A-L)* ......................................... $425
Hunting and Trapping - Infant (Class A-L-I)* .......................... $213
Small Arms Hunting (Class A-1-L)* ........................................ $  75
*Class I, U, V, W Licenses and Conservation Stamp not required
with the Class AB-L, A-L, A-L-I and AB-L-I Lifetime Licenses.

Resident and Nonresident
Licenses-------------------------------

Bear Stamp (Class DS) - Required to hunt or chase
bear. Bear Damage Stamp is to be accompanied
by Class A, A-L, AB-L, EE, X, XJ or Q license ........................ $4

National Forest Hunting/Trapping/Fishing (Class I) -
Required on National Forests in addition to a
Class  A, B, E, F, EE, H, Q, or K license .................................. $2

West Virginia Migratory Waterfowl Stamp (Class MW) -
Required to hunt migratory waterfowl in addition to
Class A, A-L, AB-L, E, H, X, Q, or XJ if age is 16 or
older. Federal Waterfowl Stamp required ............................. $5

Migratory Bird Harvest Information Program (HIP) - Required of
all licensed migratory bird hunters ....................................... FREE
Small Arms Hunting License (Class A-1) - for ages

21 or older. Must be accompanied by a Class
A, A-L, AB-L, P, X, E, EE, H, J, Q, or free license .................... $5

Purchasing a License --------
Licenses may be obtained as follows:

1. At over 400 retail agent locations throughout the
state and all county clerks offices. ($3 issuing fee for
first purchase and $1 for subsequent purchases)

2. At www.wvhunt.com. (Official DNR website - No issuing fee.)

3. Directly from the Hunting and Fishing License Unit by
phoning (304) 558-2758. (No issuing fee.)

For additional information please contact the
Hunting and Fishing License Unit:

West Virginia Division of Natural Resources
State Capitol Complex, Building 3, Room 624

Charleston, West Virginia 25305
(304) 558-2758 • customerservice@wvdnr.gov
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District 1 ----------------------------
1. Lewis Wetzel WMA

Outdoor range: 100-yard maximum backstop distance with six
covered shooting benches.

Location: Wetzel County - four miles south of Jacksonburg on
county Route 82.

2. Hillcrest WMA
Outdoor range: 100-yard maximum backstop distance with

seven covered shooting benches.
Location: Hancock County - on county Route 14, approximately
one mile north at intersection with county Road 18 (Gas Valley Road).

3. Moundsville
Indoor range: eight 50-foot shooting stations. Only .22

caliber rifles and handguns can be used.
Handgun shooters must use only straight-
walled cases and all-lead bullets.

Archery Range: 35-foot
Location: Marshall County - Moundsville on 12th Street, one
mile east of state Route 2 in Valley Fork Park. The range is
located in the large stone building in the park and is operated by
the Moundsville Rifle and Pistol Club. Open to public during
limited hours.

4. Pleasants Creek WMA
Outdoor range: 200-yard maximum backstop distance with

eight covered shooting benches.
Location: Barbour County - six miles north of Phillipi on U.S.
Route 119/250 and .75 miles east on county Route 10.

5. White Horse Center
Outdoor range: 100-yard maximum backstop distance with

10 covered shooting benches
Location: Barbour County - approximately 10 miles north of
Buckhannon on state Route 20. The range is on Crouse Road (state
Route 20/3) south of Peeltree and is under lease to the West Virginia
Rifle and Pistol Association for development and operation.

District 2 ----------------------------
6. Sleepy Creek WMA

Outdoor range: 200-yard maximum backstop distance with
eight covered shooting benches.

Location: Berkeley County - on Third Hill Mountain Road off
county Route 826, 1.5 miles north of county Route 7/13.

7. Brandywine
Outdoor range: 100-yard maximum backstop distance with

eight covered shooting benches.
Location: Shenandoah Wildlife Management Area in the
George Washington National Forest. Can be reached by
traveling 1.25 miles off U.S. Route 33 to U.S. Forest Service
Route 151.

Public Shooting Ranges in West Virginia
District 3 ----------------------------

8. Elk River WMA
Spruce Fork: outdoor range - 100-yard backstop with eight

covered shooting benches
Location: Braxton County - five miles south of Sutton on old
U.S. Route 19 and three miles east on county Route 17.

and
9. Airport range: 175-yard maximum backstop distance with

nine covered shooting benches.
Location: Braxton County - on state Route 15 across from the
Braxton County Airport.

10. Stonewall Jackson Lake WMA
Sand Fork: 300-yard maximum backstop distance with

ten covered shooting benches.
Location: Lewis County - just off U.S. Route 19, three miles east
of Interstate 79 from exit 91.

11. Summersville Lake WMA
Archery range: 25-yard practice range
Location: Nicholas County - three miles south of Summersville
on U.S. Route 19, on Long Point Road just past the
Summersville Airport.

District 4 ----------------------------
12. Bluestone WMA

Outdoor range: 100-yard maximum backstop distance with six
covered shooting benches.

Location: Summers County - county Route 33/2 at Indian Mills.

13. Panther State Forest
Outdoor range: 100-yard maximum backstop distance with

five covered shooting benches.
Location: McDowell County - from the town of Panther take
state Routes 3/1 and 3/2. The range is situated approximately 1.5
miles past park headquarters.

14. Plum Orchard Lake WMA
Outdoor range: 175-yard maximum backstop distance with six

covered shooting benches.
Location: Fayette County - exit the West Virginia Turnpike
(I-77) at the Pax or Mossy interchange and follow state Routes
23 and 23/1. To access from U.S. Route 19, take state Route 15
from Oak Hill to Mossy, then state Routes 23 and 23/1.

15. R.D. Bailey WMA
Outdoor range: 200-yard maximum backstop distance with six

covered shooting benches.
Location: Wyoming County - on Moccasin Creek off state Route 97
about six miles east of U.S. Route 52 and two miles west of Baileysville.

16. Montgomery
Outdoor range: 100-yards with covered shelter with 8 benches

and one bunker for rifles and pistols.
Location: Fayette County - Montgomery on Morris Drive
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District 6 ----------------------------
23. Conaway Run Lake WMA

Outdoor range: 100-yard maximum backstop distance with
four covered shooting benches.

Location: Tyler County - southeast of Middlebourne on county
Route 18.

24. Wirt County
Outdoor range: 200-yard maximum backstop distance with

five covered shooting benches.
Location: Wirt County - approximately .5 miles south of
Elizabeth on county Route 1 (Tuckers Creek Road).

25. Frozen Camp WMA
Outdoor range: 200-yard maximum backstop distance with

eight covered shooting benches.
Location: Jackson County - approximately seven miles east of
Ripley on state Route 33. Then approximately 2.5 miles off Route
33 on county Route 28.

26. Glenville
Outdoor range: 100-yard maximum backstop distance with

seven covered shooting benches.
Pistol/rimfire range: 50-yard with eight covered shooting benches
Location: Gilmer County - one mile north of state Route 5 at
Glenville on state Route 35/15 (Sycamore Run Road) near the
Gilmer County Recreation Center.

27. Mountwood County Park
Outdoor range: 100-yard maximum backstop distance with

four covered shooting benches.
Location: Wood County - approximately 12 miles east of
Parkersburg. Accessible from U.S. Route 50 via county Route 5.

District 5 ----------------------------
17. Beech Fork WMA

Outdoor range: 100-yard maximum backstop distance with six
covered shooting benches.

Location: Wayne County - on state Route 17 behind the WMA
building on Miller’s Fork.

18. Big Ugly WMA
Outdoor range: 100-yard maximum backstop distance
Location: Lincoln County - on Delta Route 11 above the office.

19. Chief Cornstalk WMA
Outdoor range: 200-yard maximum backstop distance with

eight covered shooting benches.
Location: Mason County - on county Route 40 (Upper Nine-mile
Road) off U.S. Route 35 near Beech Hill (follow the WMA signs).

20. Fork Creek WMA
Outdoor range: 100-yard maximum backstop distance with six

covered shooting benches.
Location: Boone County - approximately three miles northwest
of Nellis on county Route 802.

21. Kanawha State Forest
Outdoor range: 100-yard maximum backstop distance with

two covered shooting benches.
Location: Kanawha County - seven miles south of Charleston
on Davis Creek just off county Route 23.

22. McClintic WMA
Outdoor range: 100-yard maximum backstop

distance with eight covered
shooting benches.

Location: Mason County - north of Point
Pleasant on state Route 62. Turn onto
Potter’s Creek Road (county Road 11)
and drive 1.8 miles to the parking lot.
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County Buck Antlerless Muzzleloader Archery Total

Barbour 1,317 1,914 308 474 4,013
Brooke 543 748 126 355 1,772
Hancock 491 728 210 408 1,837
Harrison 1,651 2,182 402 554 4,789
Marion 1,346 1,716 286 482 3,830
Marshall 1,778 2,045 402 451 4,676
Monongalia 1,867 2,337 433 748 5,385
Ohio 675 803 144 334 1,956
Preston 2,561 4,192 516 1,279 8,548
Taylor 816 1,188 231 277 2,512
Tucker 932 773 257 540 2,502
Wetzel 2,068 2,497 460 401 5,426

District 1 Subtotal 16,045 21,123 3,775 6,303 47,246
Berkeley 984 1,019 166 438 2,607
Grant 1,875 1,961 392 539 4,767
Hampshire 2,726 2,908 399 480 6,513
Hardy 2,565 2,565 430 642 6,202
Jefferson 630 696 89 363 1,778
Mineral 1,598 1,644 188 358 3,788
Morgan 861 1,045 138 253 2,297
Pendleton 1,808 1,567 268 440 4,083

District 2 Subtotal 13,047 13,405 2,070 3,513 32, 035
Braxton 1,796 3,033 549 604 5,982
Clay 660 231 59 344 1,294
Lewis 2,044 2,908 510 485 5,947
Nicholas 1,401 915 513 1,094 3,923
Pocahontas 1,570 1,459 324 485 3,838
Randolph 2,023 2,261 600 1,208 6,092
Upshur 1,461 2,696 326 637 5,120
Webster 1,024 1,372 328 724 3,448

District 3 Subtotal 11,979 14,875 3,209 5,581 35,644
Fayette 1,087 1,204 320 911 3,522
Greenbrier 2,278 3,514 634 1,009 7,435
McDowell 0 0 0 763 763
Mercer 611 572 167 598 1,984
Monroe 1,725 2,641 335 619 5,320
Raleigh 753 886 202 666 2,507
Summers 1,042 1,647 303 536 3,528
Wyoming 0 0 0 605 605

District 4 Subtotal 7,469 10, 464 1,961 5,707 25,628
Boone 688 316 179 383 1,566
Cabell 809 823 148 385 2,165
Kanawha 1,336 1,565 286 787 3,974
Lincoln 1,005 1,374 215 432 3,026
Logan 0 0 0 675 675
Mason 2,286 2,545 475 723 6,029
Mingo 0 0 0 354 354
Putnam 1,267 1,526 257 542 3,592
Wayne 995 867 239 406 2,507

District 5 Subtotal 8,386 9,016 1,799 4,687 23,888
Calhoun 1,212 1,360 198 256 3,026
Doddridge 1,667 1,876 327 321 4,191
Gilmer 1,388 1,692 324 254 3,658
Jackson 2,178 2,636 429 588 5,831
Pleasants 580 628 116 99 1,423
Ritchie 2,275 2,953 516 510 6,254
Roane 2,020 2,794 318 551 5,683
Tyler 1,540 1,953 383 370 4,246
Wirt 1,299 1,901 359 367 3,926
Wood 2,016 2,389 488 683 5,576

District 6 Subtotal 16,175 20, 182 3,458 3,999 43,814

State Total 73,128 89,065 16,272 29,790 208,255

2003 Deer Harvest by Type of Season
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County Black Bear - Archery Black Bear - Gun Turkey - Spring Turkey - Fall

Barbour 25 6 221 Closed
Brooke 0 0 140 18
Hancock 0 0 128 9
Harrison 0 0 306 Closed
Marion 0 0 255 Closed
Marshall 0 0 363 16
Monongalia 4 0 351 30
Ohio 0 0 138 21
Preston 52 22 454 126
Taylor 1 0 156 Closed
Tucker 33 39 102 22
Wetzel 0 0 236 Closed
District 1 Subtotal 115 67 2,850 242
Berkeley 0 0 69 30
Grant 16 34 156 65
Hampshire 7 2 224 116
Hardy 22 32 172 89
Jefferson 1 0 33 Closed
Mineral 7 9 124 38
Morgan 2 0 81 20
Pendleton 18 56 133 63
District 2 Subtotal 73 133 992 421
Braxton 14 4 289 Closed
Clay 9 0 95 Closed
Lewis 1 1 375 Closed
Nicholas 73 117 199 81
Pocahontas 46 78 132 100
Randolph 133 89 204 81
Upshur 5 1 274 Closed
Webster 93 47 117 31
District 3 Subtotal 374 337 1,685 293
Fayette 36 83 309 Closed
Greenbrier 62 80 289 245
McDowell 7 2 220 Closed
Mercer 4 1 277 Closed
Monroe 11 3 170 184
Raleigh 15 64 294 Closed
Summers 2 0 254 Closed
Wyoming 12 0 237 Closed
District 4 Subtotal 149 233 2,050 429
Boone 17 71 173 Closed
Cabell 0 0 171 Closed
Kanawha 29 89 260 Closed
Lincoln 1 0 220 Closed
Logan 9 0 163 Closed
Mason 0 0 473 97
Mingo 2 0 95 Closed
Putnam 0 0 243 Closed
Wayne 0 0 238 Closed
District 5 Subtotal 58 160 2,036 97
Calhoun 1 0 189 Closed
Doddridge 0 0 245 Closed
Gilmer 1 0 224 Closed
Jackson 0 0 468 100
Pleasants 0 0 113 Closed
Ritchie 1 0 437 64
Roane 0 0 326 Closed
Tyler 0 0 246 38
Wirt 0 0 317 77
Wood 0 0 357 79
District 6 Subtotal 3 0 2,922 358
Unknown 0 6 0 1

State Total 772 936 12,535 1,841

2003 Bear and Spring & Fall Turkey Harvests

35



District WMA Acres Class Q Big Small Fishing Boating Camping Ownership
Road Game Game Lake Stream Tent Trailer

Accces

1. Bear Rocks Lake 242 • • • • • WVDNR

2. Briery Mountain 1,162 • • WV Armory

3. Burches Run Lake 55 • • • • WVDNR

4. Castleman’s Run Lake 486 • • • • WVDNR

5. Cecil H. Underwood 2,097 • • • WVDNR

6. Center Branch 974 • • WVDNR

7. Cross Creek 2,080 • • WVDNR

8. Dunkard Fork 470 • • • • • WCWC

9. Hillcrest 2,212 • • WVDNR

10. Lantz Farm and Preserve 548 • • • WJU

11. Lewis Wetzel 13,590 • • • • • WVDNR

12. Pleasant Creek 2,976 • • • • • • • WVDNR/COE

13. Pruntytown State Farm 1,764 • • WVDOA

14. Snake Hill 3,092 • • WVDNR

15. Teter Creek Lake 137 • • • • • • • WVDNR

16. Upper Deckers Creek 56 • WVDNR

17. Allegheny 5,884 • • • • WVDNR

18. Edwards Run 397 • • • • WVDNR

19. Fort Mill Ridge 217 • • • WVDNR

20. Nathaniel Mountain 10,675 • • • • WVDNR

21. Shannondale Springs 1,566 • • • • WVDNR

22. Short Mountain 8,005 • • • • • WVDNR

23. Sleepy Creek 22,928 • • • • • • • WVDNR

24. South Branch 1,097 • • • • WVDNR

25. Thorn Creek 528 • • • WVDNR

26. Wildmeyer 422 • • WVDNR

27. Becky Creek 1,930 • • • WVDOA

28. Big Ditch 388 • • • • WVDNR

29. Burnsville Lake 12,579 • • • • • • • COE

30. Elk River 18,225 • • • • • • • • WVDNR/COE

31. Handley 784 • • • • • • WVDNR

32. Huttonsville State Farm 2,720 • • • WVDOA

33. Morris Creek 9.874 • • • • TRUST

34. Smoke Camp 252 • • WVDNR

35. Stonecoal Lake 3,000 • • • • • AEC

36. Stonewall Jackson Lake 18,289 • • • • • • • • COE

37. Summersville Lake 5,974 • • • • • • • • COE

38. Valley Bend 31 • WVDNR

39. Wallback 11,757 • • • • WVDNR

40. Anawalt 2,097 • • • WVDNR

41. Andrew Rowan Farm 650 • • WVDOA

42. Berwind Lake 90 • • WVDNR

43. Beury Mountain 3,061 • • WVDNR

44. Bluestone Lake 18,019 • • • • • • • COE

45. Meadow River 2,504 • • WVDNR/DOH

46. Moncove Lake 898 • • • • • • WVDNR

47. Plum Orchard Lake 3,201 • • • • • • WVDNR

48. R.D. Bailey Lake 17,280 • • • • • COE

49. Tate Lohr 576 • • WVDNR

50. Tug Fork 2,165 • • • WVDNR
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District WMA Acres Class Q Big Small Fishing Boating Camping Ownership
Road Game Game Lake Stream Tent Trailer

Accces

51. Amherst/Plymouth 7,061 • • • Amherst Ind.

52. Beech Fork Lake 7,531 • • • • • • WVDNR/COE

53. Big Ugly 5,300 • • WVDNR

54. Chief Cornstalk 11,772 • • • • WVDNR

55. East Lynn Lake 22,928 • • • • • • • WVDNR

56. Fork Creek 7,000 • • • CCC

57. Green Bottom 1,096 • • • WVDNR/COE

58. Hilbert 289 • • WVDNR

59. Laurel Lake 12,854 • • • WVDNR/FLG

60. McClintic 3,655 • • • • WVDNR

61. Mill Creek 1,470 • • WVDNR

62. Upper Mud River 1,725 • • • • LCC

63. Conway Run 630 • • • • WVDNR

64. Frozen Camp 2,735 • • • • WVDNR

65. Hughes River 10,000 • • • • Heartwood

66. Ritchie Mines 2,300 • • WVDNR

67. Sand Hill 967 • • CNGTC

68. Stumptown 1,674 • • • WVDNR

69. The Jug 2,065 • • • • WVDNR

70. Woodrum 1,700 • • • • WVDNRW
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Forests Acres Class Q Big Small Fishing Boating Camping Ownership
Road Game Game Lake Stream Tent Trailer

Acccess

1. Cabwaylingo 8,123 • • • • WVDNR

2. Calvin Price 10,812 • • • • • WVDNR

3. Camp Creek 5,897 • • • • • WVDNR

4. Coopers Rock 12,698 • • • • • • • WVDNR

5. Greenbrier 5,130 • • • • WVDNR

6. Kanawha 9,250 • • • • WVDNR

7. Kumbrabow 9,165 • • • • WVDNR

8. Panther 11,087 • • • • WVDNR

9. Seneca 11,681 • • • • • • WVDNR

10. Beaver Dam 37,674 • • • • • USFS

11. Blackwater 58,978 • • • • • • USFS

12. Cheat 80,771 • • • • USFS

13. Cranberry 158,147 • • • • • • • • USFS

14. Little River 124,483 • • • • • • USFS

15. Neola 104,741 • • • • • • • • USFS

16. Otter Creek 68,782 • • • • • • USFS

17. Potomac 139,786 • • • • • • • • USFS

18. Rimel 67,613 • • • • • • • • USFS

19. Tea Creek 67,919 • • • • • • USFS

20. Shenandoah 49,106 • • • • • • USFS

21. Wardensville 55, 327 • • • • • • • USFS

22. Potts Creek 18,526 • • • USFS

38

State

National

For more complete hunting and fishing
information on each wildlife management area
go online at wvdnr.gov/hunting.
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