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Fishing and Hunting Licenses are good for the calendar year. You must purchase new licenses at the beginning of each year. 
All licensed anglers must carry a valid form of photo identification while fishing.

PURCHASING A LICENSE
Licenses may be obtained as follows:

1.	 At more than 350 retail agent locations throughout the 
state and all county clerks offices. ($3 issuing fee for 
first purchase and $1 for subsequent purchases.)

2.	 www.wvfish.com 
(Official DNR Web site - $2 fee per transaction.)

3.	 Directly from the Hunting and Fishing License Unit by 
phoning (304) 558-2758. ($2 fee per transaction.)

For additional information please contact:
Hunting and Fishing License Unit 
West Virginia Division of Natural Resources 
324 Fourth Avenue 
South Charleston, West Virginia 25303

(304) 558-2758 • customerservice@wvdnr.gov

RESIDENT LICENSES
Conservation Stamp(Class CS): .........................................................$5

Required for licensed anglers except holders of
Class X, XJ, A-L, B-L, and AB-L licenses

Hunting and Trapping (Class A):..................................................... $19

Fishing (Class B): includes National Forest................................... $19

Sportsman Hunting/Fishing/Trapping (Class X):...................$35
for ages 18 through 64

Junior Sportsman Hunting/Fishing/ 
Trapping (Class XJ):........................................................................ $16
for ages 15 through 17

Trout Fishing Stamp (Class O):......................................................... $10
Required of licensed anglers fishing for trout.

NONRESIDENT LICENSES
Conservation/Law Enforcement Stamp (Class CS/LE):........ $13

Required for all licensed anglers

Fishing (Class F):.....................................................................................$37

Hunting/Trapping (Class E):............................................................$119

One Day Fishing (Class LL):...................................................................$3
One day

Junior Sportsman Hunting/Fishing/Trapping 
(Class XXJ):.......................................................................................... $16
for ages 15 through 17

National Forest Hunting/Trapping/Fishing(Class I):...............$2
Required of licensed anglers except for holders 
of Class XXJ

Trout Fishing Stamp (Class OO):..................................................... $16
Required of licensed anglers fishing for trout

Resident and  
Nonresident Licenses
Special Hunting and Fishing License for Persons  

with a Life-threatening Condition (Class DT):............... FREE
Issued for ages 20 or less.  Requires no additional 
licenses or stamps.

LIFETIME LICENSES
Combination Hunting, Trapping and Fishing 

(Class AB-L)*:...................................................................................$805

Combination Hunting, Trapping and Fishing -  
Infant (Class AB-L-I)*: .......................................................... $402.50
must be purchased before age 2

Fishing (Class B-L)*:........................................................................... $552

Fishing - Infant (Class B-L-I)*: ....................................................... $276
must be purchased before age 2

Trout Fishing (Class O-L)**:............................................................ $230

Trout Fishing - Infant (Class O-L-I)**: ........................................$115
must be purchased before age 2

*	 Conservation Stamp not required.

**	Valid only when accompanied by a Class B, AB-L, AB-L I, 
	 B-L, B-L-I, X, or XJ license.

LICENSES – 2011 Fishing Fees

Trout Stamp Requirements
Individuals in the following groups do not need a trout 
stamp:

• residents over 65 years of age

• resident and nonresident youth under 15 years of age

• residents who are disabled veterans or former POWs
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Definition of Resident
A person who has been a domiciled resident continuously in 
West Virginia for 30 consecutive days or more immediately 
prior to the date of application for a license or permit. 
This includes members of the U.S. armed forces stationed 
outside the state who were West Viginia residents at the 
time of entry into the service and any full-time student of a 
college or university of this state.

OPEN FISHING 
TOURNAMENT SPONSORS
A permit is required from the Division of Natural Resources 
to hold a tournament that is open to the public or awards 
cash or prizes. Club tournaments, which are restricted to 
members competing for points, do not require a permit. 

Tournament permit requests should be  
made to:
West Virginia Division of Natural Resources 
Wildlife Resources Section 
324 Fourth Avenue 
South Charleston, West Virginia 25303

Call (304) 558-2771 for information.

FISHING LICENSE  
NOT REQUIRED FOR
1.	 Residents who are totally blind. A physician’s statement or 

certificate must be carried while fishing.

2.	 Residents 65 years of age or older. A WV driver’s license or 
WV photo ID card issued by the Division of Motor Vehicles 
shall be carried while fishing.

3.	 Nonresidents or residents under 15 years of age.

4.	 Residents on active duty in the U. S. armed forces while on 
military leave. Leave papers shall be carried while fishing.

5.	 Resident landowners or their resident children, resident 
parents, or bona fide resident tenants of such land may fish 
on their own land during open seasons in accordance with 
the laws and regulations applying to such fishing.

6.	 Residents honorably discharged from the U. S. armed forces 
receiving total permanent service-connected disability 
benefits or former prisoners of war as determined by the 
Veterans Administration or resident disabled veterans 
who qualify under West Virginia Code 17A-10-8 and are 
exempted from payment of any motor vehicle registration 
fee by the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles. Such persons 
must carry a card issued by the DNR.

7.	 Residents or in-patients of any state mental hospital, health or 
benevolent institution. Such persons must be under proper 
supervision and carry a written statement or certificate 
signed by the superintendent of the institution or facility.

8.	 Developmentally disabled residents. A DDFL card issued by 
the DNR must be carried while fishing.

9.	 Trout stamp not required for resident anglers 65 years of 
age or older.

VIOLATIONS

Point System for Fishing Violations
Persons making false application for a license will have their 
license privileges suspended for one year.

Points assigned for other fishing violations:
10 points	 for use of explosives or poison material

	 in taking fish
6 points		 for taking fish by illegal method, exceeding daily

	 creel limit, and using bait in a restricted area
4 points		 for all other violations

When a violator accumulates 10 or more fishing or hunting 
points combined, his/her license(s) will be revoked for a period 
of two years.

Points will be removed on their second anniversary or upon 
restoration of the license(s).

Reporting Boating, Fishing and Hunting 
Law Violations:
In progress – dial 911
Not in progress – call District Law Enforcement Office
	 during normal operating hours.
1.	 Observe and write down all of the information concerning 

the violation.

2.	 Don’t confront violator.

3.	 Contact a local Natural Resources Police Officer or county 
communication center as soon as possible.

4.	 Become involved in protecting your sport, be willing to 
testify in court.

Stream Pollution or Fish Kills:
Call 1-800-642-3074.

Information – LICENSES


