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FISHING	 	 Boating and Water Safety

BOATING EDUCATION 
REQUIREMENT 	
Anglers using boats must obey boating laws. In West Virginia, 
anyone born after December 31, 1986 must successfully 
complete a N.A.S.B.L.A.-approved Boating Education Course 
before operating a motorboat.

Contact a Natural Resources Police Officer for an available 
course near you. You can also take the online Boating 
Education Course available at www.wvdnr.gov. Click on 
boating under the Law Enforcement heading.

SAFE BOATING RULES 	
Boating accidents usually result from a collision with another 
boat or an object in the water such as rocks or pilings. A little 
boating knowledge, common sense and courtesy could prevent 
most accidents.

•	 Don’t operate a boat under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
•	 Don’t overload the boat.
•	 Don’t sit on the edge of the boat.
•	 If you must stand up, do so carefully away from the sides.
•	 Drive at a safe speed.
•	 Use navigation lights at night.
•	 Keep a lookout for other boats and follow the rules of 

navigation.
•	 Always let someone know where you are going and when 

you plan to return.
•	 Don’t fish during a thunderstorm.

Check the weather conditions before you leave. Lightning, 
strong wind and high waves create hazardous conditions. If 
caught on a lake in a strong storm, put all fishing gear in the 
bottom of the boat, stay low in the boat and get off the water 
as soon as possible. In high waves, the best way to keep from 
capsizing is to steer the boat at a slight angle into the waves.

Alcohol and Drugs 	
Operating a boat under the influence of alcohol or drugs 
creates the same risks and carries the same penalties as DUI. 
Intoxication affects your balance, which is already challenged 
by being in a boat. It also affects your coordination, vision and 
thinking ability. Alcohol also causes you to lose body heat faster 
should you fall into the water, increasing the risk of hypothermia.

Commercial River Traffic
While boating on the major rivers of West Virginia, always be 
alert for large commercial vessels. Large vessels always have 
the right- of-way because of long stopping distances and blind 
spots around them. Also, turbulent water around the large 
vessel could capsize a small boat easily.

Stay out of danger zones and restricted areas around locks  
and dams.

PERSONAL FLOTATION DEVICE (PFD)
Most boating fatalities are the result of a boat capsizing or 
passenger falling overboard. Nearly 80 percent of those who 
died in boating accidents were NOT wearing a PFD.

If you are fishing from a boat, West Virginia law requires that you 
have one PFD on board and readily available for each person on 
the boat. Any child 12 years of age or under must wear a PFD while 
the boat is in progress. Make sure the PFD is in good condition 
(try it out in the water from time to time), readily available and fits 
properly. Boats over 16 feet must also have a ring or cushion on 
board that can be thrown to a person in the water.

COURTESY ON THE BOAT RAMP
Boat ramp traffic jams can be prevented if everyone practices 
common courtesy at the ramp. Be sure you observe these 
simple courtesies.

•	 Prepare your vessel for launching or for the drive home well 
away from the ramp.

•	 Use at least two experienced people to launch and retrieve 
the vessel – one to drive the towing vehicle and one to 
operate the vessel.

•	 Never block a ramp with an unattended vessel or vehicle.
•	 Move the vessel away from the launch lane immediately 

after removing it from the trailer. Return briefly to pick up 
the vehicle driver once he or she has parked the vehicle and 
is back at the ramp.

•	 When retrieving, do not pull your vessel into a launch lane 
until the towing vehicle is at the ramp. The line is formed by 
vehicles with trailers, not by vessels in the water. Drop off 
the vehicle driver, and wait offshore and clear of the ramp 
until he or she arrives with the trailer.

Used by permission, © 2011 Kalkomey Enterprises, Inc.

Learn more about boating safety and take an online course at 
www.boat-ed.com/westvirginia/.

PERSON IN THE WATER
Reach-Throw-Row-Go is a method of rescuing a person who is 
in trouble in water. If the person is close to you, REACH out with 
a long object such as an oar or tree limb to pull the person into 
shore or the boat.

If you can’t reach the person, then THROW them a life-saving 
device. If possible, it should be tied to the end of a line so you 
can pull the person to you. An inflatable ball or foam cooler can 
be used if the proper device is not available.

If there is nothing to throw, ROW a boat to the person in trouble. 
The person should be pulled in over the stern, or back, of the boat 
if possible to prevent the boat from tipping over. If the boat has a 
motor, it must be shut off before you get to the person in the water.

GO (swim) to the person ONLY as a last resort and only if you 
have had life-saving training. People who are drowning often 
panic and injure or drown someone trying to rescue them.
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SAFETY WITH FISHING EQUIPMENT
Fishing hooks can be dangerous if not handled properly. Look 
behind you before you cast to make sure your hook will not be 
caught on a power line, a tree or a person. Do not leave fishing 
tackle lying loose on the ground. Someone can trip on it and 
fall or step on a hook.

HYPOTHERMIA
Hypothermia is a condition in which your body loses heat faster 
than it can produce it. Without treatment, your life is in danger. 
Exposure to the cold along with wind, wetness and exhaustion 
causes hypothermia. A common misconception is that the air  
or water temperature must be below freezing before you can 
become hypothermic. Actually, many cases of hypothermia 
develop in air temperatures between 30 and 50 degrees. And 
because water takes away body heat 25 times faster than air of 
the same temperature, any water colder than 70 degrees can 
cause hypothermia.

Symptoms of hypothermia include uncontrollable shivering, 
fumbling hands, slow speech, confusion and exhaustion. To 
treat hypothermia, get the victim out of the cold, give warm 
drinks, keep the person awake, remove all wet clothing and get 
the victim into dry clothes.

FISHING IN COLD WEATHER 	
To stay warm, wear several layers of clothing. Air trapped 
between the layers serves as insulation. A wool hat prevents 
heat loss from your head. Fishing is difficult with most gloves, 
but lightweight rubber gloves, gloves without fingertips, and 
gloves that have a flap to expose your fingers allow greater 
manual dexterity.

ICE FISHING
West Virginia doesn’t possess numerous ice fishing opportunities 
and in some ways, that makes the sport a little riskier. Anglers 
may be tempted to venture out on a frozen lake or river before 
checking the thickness of the ice. Ice should be at least four 
inches thick before it is considered safe. Due to variations in ice 
thickness on a waterbody, extreme caution should be exercised.

WADING
There are several rules you should follow for safe wading.

1.	 Wade with a fishing buddy.
2.	 Wear your PFD.
3.	 Find out whether the bottom is rocky or muddy.
4.	 Shuffle your feet or probe with a stick along the bottom to 

avoid holes.
5.	 Study how swiftly the water is moving.
6.	 Wear appropriate foot wear (considering water 

temperature and bottom substrate).

TROPHY FISH  
CITATION PROGRAM

The trophy fish citation program was initiated to 
recognize outstanding fishing achievement. The color 
fish illustrations on the citations are reproductions of 
original paintings by artist Duane Raver. Applications to 
register a trophy fish can be obtained from any license 
agent, Wildlife Resources office or www.wvdnr.gov.

Reporting Procedures
•	 Fish must be legally caught with rod and reel by a 

licensed angler in West Virginia.
•	 Carp legally taken by bow and meeting minimum size 

requirements qualify for a trophy fish citation.
•	 Fish must meet or exceed the minimum weight or length.
•	 Fish certified by weight must be weighed on a scale 

certified by the West Virginia Division of Labor or 
at any office of the West Virginia Wildlife Resources 
Section. Fish must be weighed in the presence of a 
witness who must sign the application form.

•	 Fish certified by length must be measured in the 
presence of a witness who must sign the application 
form, or fish must be measured and a photograph 
must accompany the application. Measure total 
length of fish to nearest 1/8 inch from tip of snout to 
end of tail. See Measuring a Fish on page 6.

•	 A clear side view photograph of the fish is desirable.
•	 Nonresidents and residents are eligible for trophy 

fish citations.
•	 Applications must be submitted within 60 days of the 

date of catch.
•	 A $5 fee must accompany each application. 

Make checks or money orders payable to the  
West Virginia DNR. Mail to: DNR Wildlife Resources, 1336 
State Street, Room 216, Gassaway, WV 26624.

Minimum Sizes
Trout Catfish
Brook 15 in. 1.5 lb. Blue 29 in. 10 lb.
Brown 21 in. 4 lb. Bullhead 16 in. 2 lb.
Rainbow 21 in. 4 lb. Channel 29 in. 10 lb.
Golden Rainbow 21 in. 4 lb. Flathead 29 in. 10 lb.
Bass Crappie 15 in. 1.5 
Largemouth 21 in. 5 lb. Sunfish 10 in. 1 lb.
Smallmouth 20 in. 4 lb. Chain Pickerel 20 in. 2 lb.
Spotted 14 in. 1.5 lb. Northern Pike 32 in. 8 lb.
Rock 11 in. 1 lb. Walleye 25 in. 5 lb.
Striped 25 in. 7 lb. Sauger 17 in.    1.5 lb.
Hybrid Striped 24 in. 7 lb. Yellow Perch 13 in. 1 lb.
White 15 in. 2 lb. Freshwater Drum 27 in.     10 lb.
Muskellunge 40 in. 15 lb. Fallfish 18 in. 2 lb.
Tiger Musky 40 in. 15 lb. Carp 31 in.     15 lb.


