Law Enforcement
Hunter Education Logo
Law Home Contact Us News DNR Home
Wildlife Diversity
Fishing
Hunting
Publications
Disability Services
News/Info
Licensing
go Wild!
License Plate
Kid Zone
go Wild

West Virginia Hunter Education Program

All persons born on or after January 1, 1975 must first successfully complete a certified hunter education course before purchasing a hunting license. (Chapter 20-2-30a WV Code) When purchasing a hunting license, the person must present a certificate of completion to the agent issuing the license. The first hunter education class taught in West Virginia was in 1968. It consisted of a short talk and a movie. In 1971, West Virginia won the NRA award for outstanding contributions to the field of hunter education. Today the course takes an average of 12 hours to complete. Over 360,000 students have passed the course since it began. This could not have been accomplished without the help of over 500 trained volunteer instructors who donate hundreds of hours and thousands of miles each year.

The course is offered free. Topics include: gun safety, wildlife management, ethics, survival/first aid, game identification, and how to safely hunt. You will enjoy listening to volunteer instructors and conservation officers pass on their expertise and hunting experiences, talking with your fellow hunters during class breaks, and geting familiar with the total hunting experience. Extra help is available for those who may need it.

Hunter Education Staff

Lt. Tim Coleman Charleston 304 558-2784
Sgt. Dwayne Duffield Farmington 304 825-6787
Sgt. David James French Creek 304-924-6211
Sgt. Robert Clark Romney 304 822-3551
Sgt. Bob Johnson Beckley 304 256-6945
Sgt. Ed Goodson Nitro 304 759-0703
Sgt. Chris McKnight Parkersburg 304 420-4550

For information about classes in your area, visit The Hunter Education Class search page.


Anyone 10 years old and above may opt to take the online portion of the course. During the on-line course you will periodically take quizzes, print a Practical Exam Voucher once all quizzes are complete,  and bring it with you to the practical exams. After completing the online portion, students must contact their closest Law Enforcement District Office to schedule the practical (hands-on) portion and written test. The Hunter Education Card will be issued after successfully completing all 3 sections of the course.


For those unable to attend traditional courses, on-line courses are available for a fee at the links provided below.

Today's Hunter at Hunter-Ed.comHunter-Ed.com West Virginia offers interactive instruction for all learning styles. The nine chapters are split into super-short segments that are designed for easy comprehension and quick learning. Log out and the course "remembers" where you left off, so you can jump right back in after a few hours or days. This course has the identical text that students study in West Virginia DNR classroom courses, colorfully illustrated with more than 350 realistic drawings, streaming videos on treestand safety, and interactive animations. When you pass, immediately print out your Field Day Voucher.

HUNTERcourse.com
HUNTERcourse.com
is the only online hunter education course offering a fully narrated study guide (let our professional narrator walk you through the course material), 35 interactive flash exercises (powered by HE Tools), more than 300 detailed illustrations, and visuals in every exam question (extremely helpful for visual learners!). We keep track of your progress in your personalized exam center as you complete the course at your own pace. The entire course is approved by the West Virginia DNR and will prepare you for your Proctored Exam to get your hunter education certificate. Print your Proctored Exam Voucher immediately once you’ve completed the course! Best of all, it’s free to register and you pay only when you pass!

Hunter Ed Course

HunterEdCourse.com  is a fast paced and highly interactive online hunter education course that was created by the nation’s foremost experts in hunter education – and is offered to students at around half the price of the other online course options!  Upon completion of the online training, a student merely prints his or her final exam certificate and contacts the closest West Virginia Law Enforcement District Office to schedule the practical (hands-on) portion and written test to receive a Hunter Education Card.

HunterEdCourse.com  is a fully narrated course using actual photographs as teaching materials rather than watercolor illustrations. The HunterEdCourse.com  West Virginia DNR approved course is a great and cost effective alternative to the traditional face-to-face course allowing a student to complete the classroom portion of his or her hunter education training when it is most convenient for the student – anytime, any day, any place the internet can be accessed.   As an added benefit, a student can return to the course for a full year after registering to get refresher training.


The Ten Commandments of Gun Safety
  1. Treat every gun as if it were loaded.
  2. Always keep the muzzle pointed in a safe direction.
  3. Be sure of your target and what's beyond it.
  4. Be sure the barrel and action are clear of obstructions.
  5. Unload firearms when not in use.
  6. Never point a firearm at anything you don't want to shoot.
  7. Never climb a fence or tree or jump a ditch with a loaded firearm.
  8. Never shoot a bullet at a flat, hard surface or water.
  9. Store firearms and ammunition separately.
  10. Avoid alcoholic beverages and other mind altering drugs before and during shooting.

Lost Your Hunter Education Card?

If you have misplaced you card, contact your local license agent; pick up an application for a duplicate card; complete it; and mail it, along with a $10 check or money order , to one of the addresses listed on the application. Click the link to obtain an Application for Lost Hunter Education Card online. If there is no record of your completion of the hunter education class, the $10 will be returned to you.

 


Effectiveness of Blaze Orange:

This short hunter safety video provides tips about how wearing the right amount and kind of blaze orange can keep you safe in the field.


HOT TOPICS...
Trout Stocking |  Wildlife Viewing |  Licenses/Permits | 
 | Fishing Waters |  Park Regulations | 
Contact Webmaster | dnr.wildlife@wv.gov
2003 West Virginia Division of Natural Resources