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The WVDNR has the authority under Federal Welfare 
Reform Legislation (Title 42 of the U.S. Code Section 
666 (a) (13) to collect the Social Security Number 
from an applicant for a recreational license such as a 
fishing and hunting license. This facilitates collection 
of child support payments. States failing to collect a 
SSN could face loss of federal welfare funds. The DNR 
takes every precaution, including encryption and 
masking, to protect your SSN.

Hunter 
Type

Deer Archery 
and Crossbow

Deer 
Buck Gun

Deer 
Antlerless

Deer 
Muzzleloader Black Bear Wild Turkey Wild Boar

Re
si

de
nt

**
A-L A-L A-L + N A-L A-L + DS A-L A-L
AB-L AB-L AB-L + N AB-L AB-L + DS AB-L AB-L
X X X + N X X + DS X X
XJ XJ XJ + N XJ XJ + DS XJ XJ
XS*** XS*** XS*** + N XS*** XS*** XS*** XS***
A + CS + BG A + CS A + CS + N A + CS + BG A + CS + DS + BG A + CS + BG A + CS + BG
AH+CS+BG AH+CS AH+CS+N AH+CS+BG AH+CS+DS+BG AH + CS + BG AH + CS + BG
AHJ AHJ AHJ+N AHJ AHJ+DS AHJ AHJ
Free License* Free License* Free License* + N Free License* Free License* Free License* Free License*
One of the above 
+ up to two RBs 
for additional 
deer in specified 
counties

One of the 
above + an 
RG for one 
additional 
buck

May purchase 
up to three Class 
N stamps to be 
used in specified 
counties

One of the above 
+ an RM for 
one additional  
muzzleloader deer

DT DT DT DT DT DT DT

N
on

re
si

de
nt

**

E + CS/LE + UU E + CS/LE E + CS/LE + NN E + CS/LE + VV

EE + CS/LE + DS 
required by all 
nonresidents, 
except for Class 
DT holders.

E + CS/LE + WW

CLOSED

XXJ + CS/LE XXJ + CS/LE XXJ + CS/LE + NN XXJ + CS/LE XXJ + CS/LE
AAH+CS/LE+UU AAH+CS/LE AAH+CS/LE+NN AAH+CS/LE+VV AAH + CS/LE + WW
AAHJ+CS/LE AAHJ+CS/LE AAHJ+CS/LE+NN AAHJ+CS/LE AAHJ + CS/LE
One of the above 
+ up to two RRBs 
for additional 
deer in specified 
counties

One of the 
above + an 
RRG for one 
additional 
buck

May purchase 
up to three Class 
NN stamps to be 
used in specified 
counties

One of the above 
+ an RRM for 
one additional 
muzzleloader deer

DT DT DT DT DT DT

*Free Licenses include: Active Military, Senior Citizen (those who have attained the age of 65 prior to January 1, 2012), former POW, Disabled Veteran and underage.  
**Handgun hunting also requires Class A-1 License. ***Class XS required for those who have attained the age of 65 on or after January 1, 2012, to hunt, trap or fish.
See page 46 for complete license information. For Class DT license information, see page 10.

Residents
Under the age of 15
may hunt or trap without a license when accompanied by a licensed adult who 
remains in a position near enough to render advice and assistance.

Licenses required:
•	 to hunt antlerless deer: Class N
•	 to hunt additional deer: Class RG (buck), RM (muzzleloader season),  

RB (archery and crossbow)

PURCHASING A 
LICENSE IN 2020-2021

Licenses may be obtained as follows:
1.	 At approximately 175 license agent 

locations throughout the state.  
($3 issuing fee for first purchase and 
$1 for subsequent purchases.)

2.	 www.wvhunt.com 
(Official DNR website –  
$2 fee per transaction.)

3.	 Directly from the Hunting and Fishing 
License Unit by phoning (304) 558-2758. 
($2 fee per transaction.)

For additional information contact:
Hunting and Fishing License Unit 
West Virginia Division of Natural Resources 
324 4th Avenue 
South Charleston, West Virginia 25303 
(304) 558-2758 
wvdnrcustomerservice@wv.gov

65 years of age or older, 
who have attained that age 
prior to January 1, 2012
must carry a West Virginia driver’s 
license or photo ID card issued by the 
DMV to hunt, trap or fish.

Licenses required:
•	 to hunt antlerless deer: Class N
•	 to hunt additional deer:  

Class RG (buck), RM (muzzleloader 
season), RB (archery and crossbow)

•	 to hunt with a handgun: Class A-1
•	 to hunt waterfowl: 

Federal Migratory Waterfowl Stamp
•	 to hunt waterfowl or migratory 

birds: free HIP card

65 years of age or older, 
who have attained that age 
on or after January 1, 2012
Licenses required:
•	 to hunt or trap: Class XS
•	 to hunt antlerless deer: Class N*
•	 to hunt additional deer:  

Class RG (buck), RM (muzzleloader 
season), RB (archery and crossbow)

•	 to hunt with a handgun: Class A-1
•	 to hunt waterfowl: 

Federal Migratory Waterfowl Stamp
•	 to hunt waterfowl or migratory 

birds: free HIP card
*Not required during the Special Split 
Youth, Class Q/QQ and Class XS antlerless 
deer season, see page 32.

http://www.wvhunt.com
mailto:wvdnrcustomerservice@wv.gov


LICENSES   2020-2021 Hunting and Trapping Fees
Hunting, trapping and fishing licenses are good for the calendar year. You must buy new licenses at the beginning of each year. 

All licensed hunters must carry a valid form of ID while hunting/trapping. 

Resident Licenses	
Conservation Stamp (Class CS):......................................................$5 

Required for all licensed hunters and anglers except holders of 
Class X, XS, XJ, AHJ, A-L, B-L and AB-L licenses

Hunting and Trapping License (Class A):................................... $19 
Apprentice Hunting and Trapping License (Class AH):......... $19 

Same privileges as Class A, but completion of hunter safety  
course not required (see page 6)

Sportsman Hunting/Trapping/Fishing License (Class X):...... $35  
For ages 18 through 64. Includes privileges of Conservation  
Stamp, Class A, B and BG licenses

Junior Sportsman Hunting/Trapping/Fishing  
License (Class XJ):........................................................................ $16  
Similar to Class X, but for ages 15-17

Apprentice Junior Hunting/Trapping License (Class AHJ):......$16  
Same privileges as Class XJ, for ages 15-17 and completion of 
hunter safety course not required (see page 6)

Antlerless Deer Hunting Stamp (Class N):................................ $10 
Must be accompanied by a Class A, AH, AHJ, A-L, AB-L, X, XS,  
XJ or free license

Additional Archery Deer Hunting Stamp (Class RB):............ $21  
Must be accompanied by a Class A+BG, AH+BG, AHJ, A-L, AB-L, 
X, XS, XJ or free license. Required by crossbow hunters for an 
additional deer. The Class RB stamp must be purchased prior 
to the opening of the statewide archery season.

Additional Firearms Deer Hunting Stamp (Class RG):.......... $21  
Must be accompanied by a Class A, AH, AHJ, A-L, AB-L, X, XS,  
XJ or free license. The Class RG stamp must be purchased  
prior to the opening of buck firearms season.

Additional Muzzleloader Deer Hunting Stamp (Class RM):......$16  
Must be accompanied by a Class A+BG, AH+BG, AHJ, A-L, AB-L,  
X, XS, XJ or free license. The Class RM stamp must be purchased 
prior to the opening of the muzzleloader season.

Resident Big Game Stamp (Class BG):........................................ $10 
Required of Class A or AH license holders to hunt deer during  
the archery, crossbow and muzzleloader deer seasons, and to  
hunt bear (must also have Class DS), wild turkey and wild boar

Lifetime Licenses
Resident lifetime hunting, trapping and fishing licenses serve in 
lieu of the equivalent annual license; applications are available 
at DNR offices, license agents and online at www.wvhunt.com.  
Resident seniors who previously have made a resident 
purchase through a license agent or at a DNR office may buy 
a senior lifetime license online at www.wvhunt.com. Non-
resident, full-time students of any West Virginia college or 
university are eligible to purchase lifetime licenses. 
Combination Hunting, Trapping and Fishing (Class AB-L):.....$805 
Combination Hunting, Trapping and Fishing - Infant  

(Class AB-L-I)*:...................................................................... $402.50 
Hunting and Trapping (Class A-L):............................................. $782 
Hunting and Trapping - Infant (Class A-L-I)*:........................ $391
Senior Hunting/Trapping/Fishing License (Class XS):.......... $25 

Required for resident hunters and anglers who have reached  
65 years of age on or after January 1, 2012, except holders of  
Class A-L and AB-L licenses

Small Arms Hunting (Class A-1-L):............................................... $75 
For ages 21 and older

Class BG License and Conservation Stamp not required with the Class 
AB-L, A-L, A-L-I, AB-L-I and XS Lifetime Licenses.
*Must be purchased prior to infant’s second birthday or prior to a child’s 12th 
birthday who was legally adopted and within two years of the adoption.

Resident/Nonresident Licenses
Bear Damage Stamp (Class DS):.................................................... $10 

Required to hunt or chase bear. Must be accompanied by  
Class A+BG, AH+BG, AHJ, A-L, AB-L, EE, X, XJ or C license.

Migratory Bird Harvest Information Program (HIP):.........FREE 
Required of all licensed migratory bird hunters

Small Arms Hunting Stamp (Class A-1):........................................$8 
For ages 21 or older. Must be accompanied by a Class A, AH,  
A-L, AB-L, X, XS, E, EE, H, J or free license.

Special Hunting and Fishing License for Persons  
with a Life-threatening Condition (Class DT):.................FREE 
Issued for ages 20 or less. Requires no additional licenses  
or stamps.

Nonresident Licenses
Conservation/Law Enforcement Stamp (Class CS/LE):........ $13  

Required for all licensed hunters and anglers, except holders  
of Class J license

National Forest Hunting/Trapping/Fishing Stamp (Class I):......$2 
Required on National Forests in addition to a Class E, AAH, F,  
EE, LL or H license

Statewide Hunting /Trapping License (Class E):.................. $119 
Apprentice Hunting/Trapping License (Class AAH):........... $119  

Same privileges as Class E, but completion of hunter safety  
course not required (see page 6)

Junior Sportsman Hunting/Trapping/Fishing License  
(Class XXJ):..................................................................................... $16  
Ages 8-17 (not required for fishing under age 15). Includes  
privileges of Class I, UU, VV and WW stamps.

Apprentice Junior Hunting/Trapping License (Class AAHJ):.....$16 
Same privileges as Class XXJ, for youth under 18 years old; and 
completion of hunter safety course not required (see page 6)

Bear Hunting License (Class EE):................................................ $162
Small Game Hunting License (Class H):..................................... $27 

Six consecutive days. Must have CS/LE stamp. 

Antlerless Deer Hunting Stamp (Class NN):............................. $27 
Must be accompanied by a Class E, AAH, AAHJ or XXJ license

Additional Archery Deer Hunting Stamp (Class RRB):......... $37 
Must be accompanied by a Class E +UU, AAH+UU, AAHJ  
or XXJ license. Required by crossbow hunters for an  
additional deer. The Class RRB stamp must be purchased  
prior to the opening of the statewide archery season.

Additional Firearms Deer Hunting Stamp (Class RRG):....... $43 
Must be accompanied by a Class E, AAH, AAHJ or XXJ license.  
The Class RRG stamp must be purchased prior to the opening  
of buck firearms season.

Additional Muzzleloader Deer Hunting Stamp (Class RRM):.... $37 
Must be accompanied by a Class E+VV, AAH+VV, AAHJ or XXJ  
license. The Class RRM stamp must be purchased prior to the 
opening of the muzzleloader season.

Archery Deer Hunting Stamp (Class UU):.................................. $32 
Must be accompanied by a Class E or AAH license. Required  
to hunt during the Archery and Crossbow Seasons.

Muzzleloader Deer Hunting Stamp (Class VV):....................... $32 
Must be accompanied by a Class E or AAH license

Turkey Hunting Stamp (Class WW):............................................. $32 
Must be accompanied by a Class E or AAH license

Commercial Small Game Shooting Preserve License  
(Class J):.......................................................................................... $10 
Class CS/LE stamp not required with this license. 
Available only at www.wvhunt.com.

http://www.wvhunt.com
http://www.wvhunt.com
http://www.wvhunt.com

